![]() |
|
|
|||
Originally Posted by 181174
1. Held ball situation, possession arrow favors team A. Player A1 takes the ball out of bounds. He extends the ball across the line and out over the court, where B1 grabs the ball and ties it up. What is the call? a. Violation when the ball crossed the line, B’s ball b. Technical foul on B1 c. Warning on B1, if it happens again it is a technical d. Held ball, B gets possession e. Held ball, A keeps possession E. Arrow never changed. Wouldn't D be the answer here, since team A just had the last alternating possession and is taking it out of bounds they put the ball in play by putting the ball over the line and getting tied up for a jump ball. I know there is no team control on a throw-in but since he is tied up for a jump ball doesn't the arrow go to team b? or am I reading this wrong? was it that the arrow is pointed to A and they are just putting the ball in play bc of something else other than the last play going to the arrow? No, D wouldn't be the right answer. The original AP throw-in by team A never ended. That's why team A keeps the arrow. Rule 4-42-5. Also see case book play 7.6.3SitF. I will read the rule tonight when I get home from work, thanks for the clarification. I am still a little confused on why this doesn't go to the arrow but I guess after I read it in the rulebook and casebook it will make sense. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I think we maybe have talked about this before but I couldn't find it re: AP.
Say a held ball is called and AP is with Team A. A1 has the ball for a throw-in, and attempts to pass it to A2, but the pass goes long and goes out of bounds. Does it going out of bounds constitute the end of the throw in? Or is it Team B's ball on the violation and A keeps the arrow? Thanks. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I do have a question that happened in one of my games on Saturday. It is a clock issue. Team A player was fouled in the act of shooting, she went to the line for two shots, shot first one, I gave her the ball for her 2nd free throw and the clock went off, it reset back to 20:00 minutes and no score on the board. We blew the play dead and they reset the clock, the coach of team A argued that his player should have been able to shoot the free throw since she was handed the ball, I told him since the shot was making the ball live and the clock was off, we had to blow it dead and the shot would come after the clock was fixed, I think he just wanted to prove that he was right that after the player had the ball the free throw is supposed to be shot but with no clock we couldn't do that right? strange play that I hadn't had before. I have had fire alarms go off during games and I have had the clock go dead during the game but never with anyone at the freethrow line. Just wanted to make sure this was handled okay?
|
|
|||
Quote:
The coach knows just enough about the rules to make himself dangerous. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
CO Quiz | WestMichBlue | Softball | 47 | Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:00am |
quiz | yankeesfan | Basketball | 0 | Tue Oct 25, 2005 07:36pm |
Feb Quiz | James Neil | Football | 21 | Tue Mar 04, 2003 04:55pm |
A little quiz... | BktBallRef | Basketball | 16 | Sat Dec 08, 2001 11:32pm |
QUIZ | whiskers_ump | Softball | 4 | Thu Aug 09, 2001 08:41pm |