The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
This was originally posted by just another ref in another thread. Not too difficult, but something you should know without thinking too long.


1. Held ball situation, possession arrow favors team A. Player A1 takes the ball out of bounds. He extends the ball across the line and out over the court, where B1 grabs the ball and ties it up. What is the call?

a. Violation when the ball crossed the line, B’s ball
b. Technical foul on B1
c. Warning on B1, if it happens again it is a technical
d. Held ball, B gets possession
e. Held ball, A keeps possession

2. End of game situation: Team A leads by 2. Players A1 dribbles at midcourt, and with 1 second left throws the ball high in the air, thinking his team has won. Buzzer sounds while the ball is in the air, but, incredibly, the ball goes through Team B’s basket. What is the call?

a. No points. Ball entered basket after the buzzer. A wins by 2.
b. 3 points for team B. B wins by 1.
c. 2 points for team B. Overtime.

3. Traveling involves the limit on movement of the pivot foot. A player gains possession of the ball and has not yet used his dribble, therefore he may start a dribble, shoot, or pass. The limits on movement of the pivot foot are:

a. The same on all three options.
b. Different on all three options.
c. The same on a shot and a pass. .
d. The same on a shot and a dribble.
e. The same on a pass and a dribble.

4. Official calls a foul near the baseline and you do not see the signal. You are told the call was either an intentional foul or a technical foul. There are 2 differences in the penalty for these 2 infractions. What are they?

5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter. Immediately after the buzzer, team A’s coach steps out and uses profanity as he gives his opinion to the officials of how the game was called. Ruling: Technical foul on Coach A. Two free throws will be shot to determine which team wins or if overtime is necessary. True or false?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
1. Held ball situation, possession arrow favors team A. Player A1 takes the ball out of bounds. He extends the ball across the line and out over the court, where B1 grabs the ball and ties it up. What is the call?

a. Violation when the ball crossed the line, B’s ball
b. Technical foul on B1
c. Warning on B1, if it happens again it is a technical
d. Held ball, B gets possession
e. Held ball, A keeps possession
E. Arrow never changed.

Quote:
2. End of game situation: Team A leads by 2. Players A1 dribbles at midcourt, and with 1 second left throws the ball high in the air, thinking his team has won. Buzzer sounds while the ball is in the air, but, incredibly, the ball goes through Team B’s basket. What is the call?

a. No points. Ball entered basket after the buzzer. A wins by 2.
b. 3 points for team B. B wins by 1.
c. 2 points for team B. Overtime.
A. Ball is dead at the buzzer since it wasn't a try for goal.

Quote:
3. Traveling involves the limit on movement of the pivot foot. A player gains possession of the ball and has not yet used his dribble, therefore he may start a dribble, shoot, or pass. The limits on movement of the pivot foot are:

a. The same on all three options.
b. Different on all three options.
c. The same on a shot and a pass. .
d. The same on a shot and a dribble.
e. The same on a pass and a dribble.
E? not so sure about this one.

Quote:
4. Official calls a foul near the baseline and you do not see the signal. You are told the call was either an intentional foul or a technical foul. There are 2 differences in the penalty for these 2 infractions. What are they?
Crap. Um...intentional foul is two shots then POI, technical two shots plus the ball at midcourt?

Quote:
5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter. Immediately after the buzzer, team A’s coach steps out and uses profanity as he gives his opinion to the officials of how the game was called. Ruling: Technical foul on Coach A. Two free throws will be shot to determine which team wins or if overtime is necessary. True or false?
True
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
E? not so sure about this one.
RULE 4-44
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:

a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
RULE 4-44
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:

a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
Grrr. C it is then. Great questions, thanks. Did I get all the other ones right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Grrr. C it is then. Great questions, thanks. Did I get all the other ones right?
The last answer would be false. The technical foul shots would be administered to start the overtime.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
The last answer would be false. The technical foul shots would be administered to start the overtime.
Ooops.. My bad, I thought the score was tied. You're right.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Ooops.. My bad, I thought the score was tied. You're right.
Reading is fundamental..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Ooops.. My bad, I thought the score was tied. You're right.
If the score was tied, the free throws would be the start of the extra period, then AP goes to Team A on throw-in, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
The last answer would be false. The technical foul shots would be administered to start the overtime.
5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter.
The game did not end in a tie, so why would the shots begin an overtime?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjenning
5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter.
The game did not end in a tie, so why would the shots begin an overtime?
He mis-read and corrected himself.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Grrr. C it is then. Great questions, thanks. Did I get all the other ones right?
yes.

T or F Q?
1.If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting, he/she is still an airborne shooter as it relates to a player control foul.

2. During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when both feet of the dribbler or the ball touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
1.If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting, he/she is still an airborne shooter as it relates to a player control foul.
Ooh, tought one. I'm going to have to say true.


Quote:
2. During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when both feet of the dribbler or the ball touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
False. Both feet AND the ball.

Quote:
3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.
False. Violation, not technical.

I'm only 60% sure about these answers. Good questions.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Ooh, tought one. I'm going to have to say true.
This would be false. It would however be a team control foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
False. Both feet AND the ball.
Correct

Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
False. Violation, not technical.
Incorrect. This is legal. Once the ball is released on a throw-in it is fair game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
I'm only 60% sure about these answers. Good questions.
This percentage goes down when you have to make a split second decision on the court. Keep up the studying!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
yes.

T or F Q?

3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.
If it's a throw in after a basket, and A1 is throwing it to A2 who steps OOB to receive the pass OOB(you know the play), then B1 reaches across to hit the ball while ball is still OOB, then yes it would be a technical foul! Correct?
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie
If it's a throw in after a basket, and A1 is throwing it to A2 who steps OOB to receive the pass OOB(you know the play), then B1 reaches across to hit the ball while ball is still OOB, then yes it would be a technical foul! Correct?
You are correct!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CO Quiz WestMichBlue Softball 47 Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:00am
quiz yankeesfan Basketball 0 Tue Oct 25, 2005 07:36pm
Feb Quiz James Neil Football 21 Tue Mar 04, 2003 04:55pm
A little quiz... BktBallRef Basketball 16 Sat Dec 08, 2001 11:32pm
QUIZ whiskers_ump Softball 4 Thu Aug 09, 2001 08:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1