The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Quiz me! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32515-quiz-me.html)

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
I think we maybe have talked about this before but I couldn't find it re: AP.

Say a held ball is called and AP is with Team A. A1 has the ball for a throw-in, and attempts to pass it to A2, but the pass goes long and goes out of bounds. Does it going out of bounds constitute the end of the throw in? Or is it Team B's ball on the violation and A keeps the arrow?

Thanks.

B gets the ball by virtue of the violation, at the spot of the throwin. The arrow is switched to B by virtue of the violation.

rainmaker Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjenning
But only if the ball has not left the thrower's hands - once the ball is in the air on the toss (same time as the count ends), the plane does not restrict the defender's reach.

Not so. 7-6-3 and 9-2-11.

181174 Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:41am

I do have a question that happened in one of my games on Saturday. It is a clock issue. Team A player was fouled in the act of shooting, she went to the line for two shots, shot first one, I gave her the ball for her 2nd free throw and the clock went off, it reset back to 20:00 minutes and no score on the board. We blew the play dead and they reset the clock, the coach of team A argued that his player should have been able to shoot the free throw since she was handed the ball, I told him since the shot was making the ball live and the clock was off, we had to blow it dead and the shot would come after the clock was fixed, I think he just wanted to prove that he was right that after the player had the ball the free throw is supposed to be shot but with no clock we couldn't do that right? strange play that I hadn't had before. I have had fire alarms go off during games and I have had the clock go dead during the game but never with anyone at the freethrow line. Just wanted to make sure this was handled okay?

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Not so. 7-6-3 and 9-2-11.

Not so?:confused:

You just cited that rules that say it is so. Are you mis-reading what he said? He said that the defender can legally break the boundary plane <b>after</b> the ball has left the thrower's hands on the throw-in. That's true.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
I do have a question that happened in one of my games on Saturday. It is a clock issue. Team A player was fouled in the act of shooting, she went to the line for two shots, shot first one, I gave her the ball for her 2nd free throw and the clock went off, it reset back to 20:00 minutes and no score on the board. We blew the play dead and they reset the clock, the coach of team A argued that his player should have been able to shoot the free throw since she was handed the ball, I told him since the shot was making the ball live and the clock was off, we had to blow it dead and the shot would come after the clock was fixed, I think he just wanted to prove that he was right that after the player had the ball the free throw is supposed to be shot but with no clock we couldn't do that right? strange play that I hadn't had before. I have had fire alarms go off during games and I have had the clock go dead during the game but never with anyone at the freethrow line. Just wanted to make sure this was handled okay?

Ask the coach whatinthehell you're supposed to do if the second FT is missed and the clock isn't ready to start?

The coach knows just enough about the rules to make himself dangerous.

REFVA Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:16am

go to your local IAABO website and you can download a test for $25.

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Mar 07, 2007 01:49pm

OK, Time for a new quiz question directed at the Original Poster.

A22 is going down on a fast break for a layup with B12 in close pursuit. A22 lays the ball up off the glass, and as it goes off the glass, B12, who was making a legitimate attempt to block the shot, misses the ball and strikes the backboard causing the whole thing to shake, and the shot glances off the rim and falls out.

Whatcha gonna do now?

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 02:26pm

Call an ambulance for Mr. Vitamin's (B12) broken hand.

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2007 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Call an ambulance for <font color=red>Mr.</font color> Vitamin's (B12) broken hand.

Ahem...how can you be sure it wasn't <font color=red>Ms.</font color> Vitamin's (B12) broken hand??? ;)

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 07, 2007 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Ahem...how can you be sure it wasn't <font color=red>Ms.</font color> Vitamin's (B12) broken hand??? ;)

Because he was able to <b>reach</b> the backboard. :rolleyes: Everybody knows wimmen can't do that.

It's true, it's true.....

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Ahem...how can you be sure it wasn't <font color=red>Ms.</font color> Vitamin's (B12) broken hand??? ;)

Because it's happening in my head. And in my world, B12 is a boy. I can't answer for what you see and hear in your head. :D

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2007 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I can't answer for what you see and hear in your head. :D

Hell, <B>I</B> can't answer for what I see and hear in my head. :eek:

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2007 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Because he was able to <b>reach</b> the backboard. :rolleyes: Everybody knows wimmen can't do that.

It's true, it's true.....

You know where you're goin', right?

:D

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
You know where you're goin', right?

:D

He knows. That's why he bought a plush lining for his hand basket.

jkjenning Thu Mar 08, 2007 07:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Not so. 7-6-3 and 9-2-11.

I'm sure you misread what I wrote.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1