The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Quiz me! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32515-quiz-me.html)

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 08:49am

Quiz me!
 
So, I've been studying my rules and case book pretty intensely for the past month and I can't really gauge where I'm at. Obviously I don't have them down pat but I'd like to know if I'm even progressing. Problem is, I can't find any quizzes or tests online to help me know how I'm doing.

So, I thought I would enlist the help of all of the collective wisdom on this board. Ask me a quiz question and I'll try to give the right answer without looking in my book. If other people want to answer, that's cool, but try and put your answers in spoilers so it doesn't give away the answer to me.

I think this could be fun. Thanks to anybody that wants to help.

Fire away!

shave-tail Tue Mar 06, 2007 08:58am

1. 1/10 A10. The snap goes off QB A11's hands and the ball rolls to the A7. B21 bats the ball at the A8 and the ball rolls into the end zone where A22 picks up ball in the end zone, runs to the A30, fumbles and B22 recovers.
:D :D :D :D

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shave-tail
football gobbledygook

at first I was like :confused: then I realized you were :p so I was like :cool:

Junker Tue Mar 06, 2007 09:08am

If you're really looking to get a good handle on the rules, you might want to check out this website. The CD's include all of the test questions from the last 5 seasons. http://www.rules-study.com/index.html

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
If you're really looking to get a good handle on the rules, you might want to check out this website. The CD's include all of the test questions from the last 5 seasons. http://www.rules-study.com/index.html

I just can't bring myself to shell out money for practice tests right now when I'm already spending hundreds of dollars for dues, clothes, equipment, camp, insurance, etc etc etc.

jkjenning Tue Mar 06, 2007 09:38am

Take the case book, cover the answers as you read the situations, and then see if you know the answers correctly!

Indianaref Tue Mar 06, 2007 09:40am

This was originally posted by just another ref in another thread. Not too difficult, but something you should know without thinking too long.


1. Held ball situation, possession arrow favors team A. Player A1 takes the ball out of bounds. He extends the ball across the line and out over the court, where B1 grabs the ball and ties it up. What is the call?

a. Violation when the ball crossed the line, B’s ball
b. Technical foul on B1
c. Warning on B1, if it happens again it is a technical
d. Held ball, B gets possession
e. Held ball, A keeps possession

2. End of game situation: Team A leads by 2. Players A1 dribbles at midcourt, and with 1 second left throws the ball high in the air, thinking his team has won. Buzzer sounds while the ball is in the air, but, incredibly, the ball goes through Team B’s basket. What is the call?

a. No points. Ball entered basket after the buzzer. A wins by 2.
b. 3 points for team B. B wins by 1.
c. 2 points for team B. Overtime.

3. Traveling involves the limit on movement of the pivot foot. A player gains possession of the ball and has not yet used his dribble, therefore he may start a dribble, shoot, or pass. The limits on movement of the pivot foot are:

a. The same on all three options.
b. Different on all three options.
c. The same on a shot and a pass. .
d. The same on a shot and a dribble.
e. The same on a pass and a dribble.

4. Official calls a foul near the baseline and you do not see the signal. You are told the call was either an intentional foul or a technical foul. There are 2 differences in the penalty for these 2 infractions. What are they?

5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter. Immediately after the buzzer, team A’s coach steps out and uses profanity as he gives his opinion to the officials of how the game was called. Ruling: Technical foul on Coach A. Two free throws will be shot to determine which team wins or if overtime is necessary. True or false?

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 09:47am

Quote:

1. Held ball situation, possession arrow favors team A. Player A1 takes the ball out of bounds. He extends the ball across the line and out over the court, where B1 grabs the ball and ties it up. What is the call?

a. Violation when the ball crossed the line, B’s ball
b. Technical foul on B1
c. Warning on B1, if it happens again it is a technical
d. Held ball, B gets possession
e. Held ball, A keeps possession
E. Arrow never changed.

Quote:

2. End of game situation: Team A leads by 2. Players A1 dribbles at midcourt, and with 1 second left throws the ball high in the air, thinking his team has won. Buzzer sounds while the ball is in the air, but, incredibly, the ball goes through Team B’s basket. What is the call?

a. No points. Ball entered basket after the buzzer. A wins by 2.
b. 3 points for team B. B wins by 1.
c. 2 points for team B. Overtime.
A. Ball is dead at the buzzer since it wasn't a try for goal.

Quote:

3. Traveling involves the limit on movement of the pivot foot. A player gains possession of the ball and has not yet used his dribble, therefore he may start a dribble, shoot, or pass. The limits on movement of the pivot foot are:

a. The same on all three options.
b. Different on all three options.
c. The same on a shot and a pass. .
d. The same on a shot and a dribble.
e. The same on a pass and a dribble.
E? not so sure about this one.

Quote:

4. Official calls a foul near the baseline and you do not see the signal. You are told the call was either an intentional foul or a technical foul. There are 2 differences in the penalty for these 2 infractions. What are they?
Crap. Um...intentional foul is two shots then POI, technical two shots plus the ball at midcourt?

Quote:

5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter. Immediately after the buzzer, team A’s coach steps out and uses profanity as he gives his opinion to the officials of how the game was called. Ruling: Technical foul on Coach A. Two free throws will be shot to determine which team wins or if overtime is necessary. True or false?
True

Indianaref Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
E? not so sure about this one.

RULE 4-44
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:

a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref
RULE 4-44
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:

a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

Grrr. C it is then. Great questions, thanks. Did I get all the other ones right?

JoeTheRef Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Grrr. C it is then. Great questions, thanks. Did I get all the other ones right?

The last answer would be false. The technical foul shots would be administered to start the overtime.

JoeTheRef Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
The last answer would be false. The technical foul shots would be administered to start the overtime.

Ooops.. My bad, I thought the score was tied. You're right.

JoeTheRef Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Ooops.. My bad, I thought the score was tied. You're right.

Reading is fundamental.. :D

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Ooops.. My bad, I thought the score was tied. You're right.

If the score was tied, the free throws would be the start of the extra period, then AP goes to Team A on throw-in, correct?

Indianaref Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Grrr. C it is then. Great questions, thanks. Did I get all the other ones right?

yes.

T or F Q?
1.If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting, he/she is still an airborne shooter as it relates to a player control foul.

2. During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when both feet of the dribbler or the ball touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:30am

Quote:

1.If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting, he/she is still an airborne shooter as it relates to a player control foul.
Ooh, tought one. I'm going to have to say true.


Quote:

2. During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when both feet of the dribbler or the ball touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
False. Both feet AND the ball.

Quote:

3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.
False. Violation, not technical.

I'm only 60% sure about these answers. Good questions.

All_Heart Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Crap. Um...intentional foul is two shots then POI, technical two shots plus the ball at midcourt?

High School
Intentional Personal Foul is 2 shots by the player fouled and then the ball is awarded to the same team at the spot of the foul.

Intentional Technical Foul is 2 shots by any player or eligible sub on the offended team and then the ball is awarded to the same team at the division line opposite table.

College
Same as high school

Scrapper1 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Quote:

4. Official calls a foul near the baseline and you do not see the signal. You are told the call was either an intentional foul or a technical foul. There are 2 differences in the penalty for these 2 infractions. What are they?
Crap. Um...intentional foul is two shots then POI, technical two shots plus the ball at midcourt?

You're getting there, but the part in red is not correct. How is the part in green different from an intentional personal foul?

All_Heart Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Ooh, tought one. I'm going to have to say true.

This would be false. It would however be a team control foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
False. Both feet AND the ball.

Correct

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
False. Violation, not technical.

Incorrect. This is legal. Once the ball is released on a throw-in it is fair game.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
I'm only 60% sure about these answers. Good questions.

This percentage goes down when you have to make a split second decision on the court. Keep up the studying! :)

Scrapper1 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:44am

LOL, All Heart beat me by 3 minutes.

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
This percentage goes down when you have to make a split second decision on the court. Keep up the studying! :)

EXACTLY what I was thinking while answering the question. Thanks for your help.

jkjenning Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
The last answer would be false. The technical foul shots would be administered to start the overtime.

5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter.
:confused: The game did not end in a tie, so why would the shots begin an overtime?

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjenning
5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter.
:confused: The game did not end in a tie, so why would the shots begin an overtime?

He mis-read and corrected himself.

jritchie Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref
yes.

T or F Q?

3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.

If it's a throw in after a basket, and A1 is throwing it to A2 who steps OOB to receive the pass OOB(you know the play), then B1 reaches across to hit the ball while ball is still OOB, then yes it would be a technical foul! Correct?

All_Heart Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
EXACTLY what I was thinking while answering the question. Thanks for your help.

Studying helps alot however it can not replace experience. Try to officiate as many games as you can. Rec league, youth league, etc. The level might not be what you want to do (varsity or higher) however many things will happen that you have never seen before! Something will come up that will make you think will what if this happened and you will be better off because of it. Just make sure you go into each game trying to work on something new (postioning, signals, etc.) Don't let your mechanics slack off during rec games because they will follow you into bigger games.

Also if you are serious about it then you should try and do it year round so that you don't forget rules, mechanics, everything :eek:.

Good luck in the future.

All_Heart Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
If it's a throw in after a basket, and A1 is throwing it to A2 who steps OOB to receive the pass OOB(you know the play), then B1 reaches across to hit the ball while ball is still OOB, then yes it would be a technical foul! Correct?

You are correct!

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
You are correct!

If the team had been warned already, no? If it's the second offense, then it would be a technical.

jritchie Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:15pm

Wrong DC REf12, you only get a warning for breaking the plane without touching anything or anyone. It's an automatic T for coming across and hitting the ball! :)

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Wrong DC REf12, you only get a warning for breaking the plane without touching anything or anyone. It's an automatic T for coming across and hitting the ball! :)

Ah, okay. Thanks for clarifying.

Back to the books for me!!! I have a test coming up probably at the end of April and hopefully I can pass that and get started doing some wreck league and AAU. I need the experience...

Mark Padgett Tue Mar 06, 2007 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shave-tail
1. 1/10 A10. The snap goes off QB A11's hands and the ball rolls to the A7. B21 bats the ball at the A8 and the ball rolls into the end zone where A22 picks up ball in the end zone, runs to the A30, fumbles and B22 recovers.
:D :D :D :D

That's easy - icing! :D

Daryl H. Long Tue Mar 06, 2007 04:01pm

French Basketball

French FEEBLE game on The Cheese Channel. The Surrendermonkeys beat the Rifledroppers 23.47 to 14.85 (they keep the score in metric) when Jean-Claude Girlyman accidentally bounced the ball off his nose into the other team's basket in the final seconds. The most amusing thing is that when a player is called for a foul, he raises both his hands over his head. The announcer said it is not a rule, just habit. At the end of the game, the loser hoisted a white flag. BTW - their jersey numbers were in metric also and the ball was a rhomboid. They had designer nets and rims.

Q: What are refs Cupcake and Studmuffin required to do
upon hearing the final horn.

Adam Tue Mar 06, 2007 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
French Basketball
Q: What are refs Cupcake and Studmuffin required to do
upon hearing the final horn.

They must report to the head ref, Croissant, and the three of them will surrender their whistles to Kaiser Roll.

Indianaref Tue Mar 06, 2007 05:35pm

T or F Q?
1.If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting, he/she is still an airborne shooter as it relates to a player control foul.False, team control foul

2. During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when both feet of the dribbler or the ball touch the court entirely in the frontcourt. This is false also.

3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.False, this is neither a violation or a Techincal. This is a "throw in pass". Once the ball leaves the thrower's hands, the throw in boundry plane restriction end for the opponents.

181174 Tue Mar 06, 2007 05:46pm

1. Held ball situation, possession arrow favors team A. Player A1 takes the ball out of bounds. He extends the ball across the line and out over the court, where B1 grabs the ball and ties it up. What is the call?

a. Violation when the ball crossed the line, B’s ball
b. Technical foul on B1
c. Warning on B1, if it happens again it is a technical
d. Held ball, B gets possession
e. Held ball, A keeps possession


E. Arrow never changed.


Wouldn't D be the answer here, since team A just had the last alternating possession and is taking it out of bounds they put the ball in play by putting the ball over the line and getting tied up for a jump ball. I know there is no team control on a throw-in but since he is tied up for a jump ball doesn't the arrow go to team b? or am I reading this wrong? was it that the arrow is pointed to A and they are just putting the ball in play bc of something else other than the last play going to the arrow?

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 06, 2007 05:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref
T or F Q?

2.<font color = red> During a dribble</font> from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when both feet of the dribbler or the ball touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

This is false also. If player A1 is dribbling the ball on the division line, right foot in front court and left one in backcourt, if A1 lifts his left foot, (right foot now the pivot), he is now in front court.

You're correct in that the answer is "false", but your reasoning is wrong. The play is </b>during a dribble</b>. If the ball hasn't gone into the front court, it doesn't matter what the dribbler does what his feet. You can't have a backcourt violation until the ball and both feet are in the front court. In the play above, A1 is dribbling the ball </b>on</b> the division line, not in the frontcourt. He is still in the backcourt and can't commit a violation, no matter what his feet do.

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 06, 2007 05:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
1. Held ball situation, possession arrow favors team A. Player A1 takes the ball out of bounds. He extends the ball across the line and out over the court, where B1 grabs the ball and ties it up. What is the call?

a. Violation when the ball crossed the line, B’s ball
b. Technical foul on B1
c. Warning on B1, if it happens again it is a technical
d. Held ball, B gets possession
e. Held ball, A keeps possession


E. Arrow never changed.


Wouldn't D be the answer here, since team A just had the last alternating possession and is taking it out of bounds they put the ball in play by putting the ball over the line and getting tied up for a jump ball. I know there is no team control on a throw-in but since he is tied up for a jump ball doesn't the arrow go to team b? or am I reading this wrong? was it that the arrow is pointed to A and they are just putting the ball in play bc of something else other than the last play going to the arrow?

No, D wouldn't be the right answer. The original AP throw-in by team A never ended. That's why team A keeps the arrow. Rule 4-42-5. Also see case book play 7.6.3SitF.

WhistlesAndStripes Tue Mar 06, 2007 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shave-tail
1. 1/10 A10. The snap goes off QB A11's hands and the ball rolls to the A7. B21 bats the ball at the A8 and the ball rolls into the end zone where A22 picks up ball in the end zone, runs to the A30, fumbles and B22 recovers.
:D :D :D :D

When B22 recovered, did he just lay on the ground with it, or did he start to run with it? If so, which direction, and did he score or was he tackled, and if so, where was he tackled at? Were there any fouls that occurred during the run by B22?

JugglingReferee Tue Mar 06, 2007 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Reading is fundamental.. :D

Reading isn't fun, it drives me mental. :o

jkjenning Wed Mar 07, 2007 05:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
It's an automatic T for coming across and hitting the ball! :)

But only if the ball has not left the thrower's hands - once the ball is in the air on the toss (same time as the count ends), the plane does not restrict the defender's reach.

Indianaref Wed Mar 07, 2007 07:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You're correct in that the answer is "false", but your reasoning is wrong. The play is </b>during a dribble</b>. If the ball hasn't gone into the front court, it doesn't matter what the dribbler does what his feet. You can't have a backcourt violation until the ball and both feet are in the front court. In the play above, A1 is dribbling the ball </b>on</b> the division line, not in the frontcourt. He is still in the backcourt and can't commit a violation, no matter what his feet do.

JR, you must be at your computer 24/7. No more than 30 seconds after I posted my answers, I realized my mistake and edited my answer. Yes, both feet and ball during a dribble. My original answer is only good for a player that is holding the ball, not dribbling. Thank you

181174 Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:06am

Originally Posted by 181174
1. Held ball situation, possession arrow favors team A. Player A1 takes the ball out of bounds. He extends the ball across the line and out over the court, where B1 grabs the ball and ties it up. What is the call?

a. Violation when the ball crossed the line, B’s ball
b. Technical foul on B1
c. Warning on B1, if it happens again it is a technical
d. Held ball, B gets possession
e. Held ball, A keeps possession


E. Arrow never changed.


Wouldn't D be the answer here, since team A just had the last alternating possession and is taking it out of bounds they put the ball in play by putting the ball over the line and getting tied up for a jump ball. I know there is no team control on a throw-in but since he is tied up for a jump ball doesn't the arrow go to team b? or am I reading this wrong? was it that the arrow is pointed to A and they are just putting the ball in play bc of something else other than the last play going to the arrow?

No, D wouldn't be the right answer. The original AP throw-in by team A never ended. That's why team A keeps the arrow. Rule 4-42-5. Also see case book play 7.6.3SitF.


I will read the rule tonight when I get home from work, thanks for the clarification. I am still a little confused on why this doesn't go to the arrow but I guess after I read it in the rulebook and casebook it will make sense.

JoeTheRef Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
Originally Posted by 181174
I will read the rule tonight when I get home from work, thanks for the clarification. I am still a little confused on why this doesn't go to the arrow but I guess after I read it in the rulebook and casebook it will make sense.

If it clears up any confusion, there is NO team control during the throw in, so if Team A has the arrow, and they're getting ready to thow the ball in and the ball gets tied up then the ball goes back to Team A.

DC_Ref12 Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:18am

I think we maybe have talked about this before but I couldn't find it re: AP.

Say a held ball is called and AP is with Team A. A1 has the ball for a throw-in, and attempts to pass it to A2, but the pass goes long and goes out of bounds. Does it going out of bounds constitute the end of the throw in? Or is it Team B's ball on the violation and A keeps the arrow?

Thanks.

JoeTheRef Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
I think we maybe have talked about this before but I couldn't find it re: AP.

Say a held ball is called and AP is with Team A. A1 has the ball for a throw-in, and attempts to pass it to A2, but the pass goes long and goes out of bounds. Does it going out of bounds constitute the end of the throw in? Or is it Team B's ball on the violation and A keeps the arrow?

Thanks.

Team B gets the ball and the AP arrow. The arrow is set after the throw-in ends or the throw-in team violates.

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
I will read the rule tonight when I get home from work, thanks for the clarification. I am still a little confused on why this doesn't go to the arrow but I guess after I read it in the rulebook and casebook it will make sense.

You do go to the arrow, but the key is knowing when the arrow changes. It does not change until the throwin ends or the throwin team violates. The throwin ends when the ball is touched legally in bounds after the thrower throws the ball. In this case, the ball is tied up before he released it, so the throwin never ended. That's how A gets the ball on the arrow again.

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
I think we maybe have talked about this before but I couldn't find it re: AP.

Say a held ball is called and AP is with Team A. A1 has the ball for a throw-in, and attempts to pass it to A2, but the pass goes long and goes out of bounds. Does it going out of bounds constitute the end of the throw in? Or is it Team B's ball on the violation and A keeps the arrow?

Thanks.

B gets the ball by virtue of the violation, at the spot of the throwin. The arrow is switched to B by virtue of the violation.

rainmaker Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjenning
But only if the ball has not left the thrower's hands - once the ball is in the air on the toss (same time as the count ends), the plane does not restrict the defender's reach.

Not so. 7-6-3 and 9-2-11.

181174 Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:41am

I do have a question that happened in one of my games on Saturday. It is a clock issue. Team A player was fouled in the act of shooting, she went to the line for two shots, shot first one, I gave her the ball for her 2nd free throw and the clock went off, it reset back to 20:00 minutes and no score on the board. We blew the play dead and they reset the clock, the coach of team A argued that his player should have been able to shoot the free throw since she was handed the ball, I told him since the shot was making the ball live and the clock was off, we had to blow it dead and the shot would come after the clock was fixed, I think he just wanted to prove that he was right that after the player had the ball the free throw is supposed to be shot but with no clock we couldn't do that right? strange play that I hadn't had before. I have had fire alarms go off during games and I have had the clock go dead during the game but never with anyone at the freethrow line. Just wanted to make sure this was handled okay?

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Not so. 7-6-3 and 9-2-11.

Not so?:confused:

You just cited that rules that say it is so. Are you mis-reading what he said? He said that the defender can legally break the boundary plane <b>after</b> the ball has left the thrower's hands on the throw-in. That's true.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 181174
I do have a question that happened in one of my games on Saturday. It is a clock issue. Team A player was fouled in the act of shooting, she went to the line for two shots, shot first one, I gave her the ball for her 2nd free throw and the clock went off, it reset back to 20:00 minutes and no score on the board. We blew the play dead and they reset the clock, the coach of team A argued that his player should have been able to shoot the free throw since she was handed the ball, I told him since the shot was making the ball live and the clock was off, we had to blow it dead and the shot would come after the clock was fixed, I think he just wanted to prove that he was right that after the player had the ball the free throw is supposed to be shot but with no clock we couldn't do that right? strange play that I hadn't had before. I have had fire alarms go off during games and I have had the clock go dead during the game but never with anyone at the freethrow line. Just wanted to make sure this was handled okay?

Ask the coach whatinthehell you're supposed to do if the second FT is missed and the clock isn't ready to start?

The coach knows just enough about the rules to make himself dangerous.

REFVA Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:16am

go to your local IAABO website and you can download a test for $25.

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Mar 07, 2007 01:49pm

OK, Time for a new quiz question directed at the Original Poster.

A22 is going down on a fast break for a layup with B12 in close pursuit. A22 lays the ball up off the glass, and as it goes off the glass, B12, who was making a legitimate attempt to block the shot, misses the ball and strikes the backboard causing the whole thing to shake, and the shot glances off the rim and falls out.

Whatcha gonna do now?

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 02:26pm

Call an ambulance for Mr. Vitamin's (B12) broken hand.

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2007 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Call an ambulance for <font color=red>Mr.</font color> Vitamin's (B12) broken hand.

Ahem...how can you be sure it wasn't <font color=red>Ms.</font color> Vitamin's (B12) broken hand??? ;)

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 07, 2007 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Ahem...how can you be sure it wasn't <font color=red>Ms.</font color> Vitamin's (B12) broken hand??? ;)

Because he was able to <b>reach</b> the backboard. :rolleyes: Everybody knows wimmen can't do that.

It's true, it's true.....

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Ahem...how can you be sure it wasn't <font color=red>Ms.</font color> Vitamin's (B12) broken hand??? ;)

Because it's happening in my head. And in my world, B12 is a boy. I can't answer for what you see and hear in your head. :D

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2007 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I can't answer for what you see and hear in your head. :D

Hell, <B>I</B> can't answer for what I see and hear in my head. :eek:

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2007 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Because he was able to <b>reach</b> the backboard. :rolleyes: Everybody knows wimmen can't do that.

It's true, it's true.....

You know where you're goin', right?

:D

Adam Wed Mar 07, 2007 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
You know where you're goin', right?

:D

He knows. That's why he bought a plush lining for his hand basket.

jkjenning Thu Mar 08, 2007 07:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Not so. 7-6-3 and 9-2-11.

I'm sure you misread what I wrote.

Jimgolf Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
If you're really looking to get a good handle on the rules, you might want to check out this website. The CD's include all of the test questions from the last 5 seasons. http://www.rules-study.com/index.html


The basketball version is not currently available, presumably due to the season being over. The site says that the basketball version will be available in September. The $30 is money well-spent and should be tax deductible.

jkjenning Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:33pm

Jimgolf, there are 1 kinds of people: those who understand binary (1) and those who don't (0). :D

Adam Thu Mar 08, 2007 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjenning
Jimgolf, there are 1 kinds of people: those who understand binary (1) and those who don't (0). :D

Don't forget the grammar experts. Or is this some kind of binary joke? ;)

bob jenkins Thu Mar 08, 2007 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjenning
Jimgolf, there are 1 kinds of people: those who understand binary (1) and those who don't (0). :D

I thought there were 10 types ...

jkjenning Fri Mar 09, 2007 06:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I thought there were 10 types ...

Yes, there are 10 kinds of people, they can be classified with a single bit. I'll tell you what I (111000 & 001010) for lunch if you ask. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1