The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Quiz me! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32515-quiz-me.html)

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:30am

Quote:

1.If airborne A1 passes the ball instead of shooting, he/she is still an airborne shooter as it relates to a player control foul.
Ooh, tought one. I'm going to have to say true.


Quote:

2. During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when both feet of the dribbler or the ball touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
False. Both feet AND the ball.

Quote:

3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.
False. Violation, not technical.

I'm only 60% sure about these answers. Good questions.

All_Heart Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Crap. Um...intentional foul is two shots then POI, technical two shots plus the ball at midcourt?

High School
Intentional Personal Foul is 2 shots by the player fouled and then the ball is awarded to the same team at the spot of the foul.

Intentional Technical Foul is 2 shots by any player or eligible sub on the offended team and then the ball is awarded to the same team at the division line opposite table.

College
Same as high school

Scrapper1 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Quote:

4. Official calls a foul near the baseline and you do not see the signal. You are told the call was either an intentional foul or a technical foul. There are 2 differences in the penalty for these 2 infractions. What are they?
Crap. Um...intentional foul is two shots then POI, technical two shots plus the ball at midcourt?

You're getting there, but the part in red is not correct. How is the part in green different from an intentional personal foul?

All_Heart Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Ooh, tought one. I'm going to have to say true.

This would be false. It would however be a team control foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
False. Both feet AND the ball.

Correct

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
False. Violation, not technical.

Incorrect. This is legal. Once the ball is released on a throw-in it is fair game.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
I'm only 60% sure about these answers. Good questions.

This percentage goes down when you have to make a split second decision on the court. Keep up the studying! :)

Scrapper1 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:44am

LOL, All Heart beat me by 3 minutes.

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
This percentage goes down when you have to make a split second decision on the court. Keep up the studying! :)

EXACTLY what I was thinking while answering the question. Thanks for your help.

jkjenning Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
The last answer would be false. The technical foul shots would be administered to start the overtime.

5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter.
:confused: The game did not end in a tie, so why would the shots begin an overtime?

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkjenning
5. Team A leads by 1 as time expires to end the 4th quarter.
:confused: The game did not end in a tie, so why would the shots begin an overtime?

He mis-read and corrected himself.

jritchie Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref
yes.

T or F Q?

3. It is a technical foul for an opponent of the throw in team to reach across the boundry line and knock down a throw in pass.

If it's a throw in after a basket, and A1 is throwing it to A2 who steps OOB to receive the pass OOB(you know the play), then B1 reaches across to hit the ball while ball is still OOB, then yes it would be a technical foul! Correct?

All_Heart Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
EXACTLY what I was thinking while answering the question. Thanks for your help.

Studying helps alot however it can not replace experience. Try to officiate as many games as you can. Rec league, youth league, etc. The level might not be what you want to do (varsity or higher) however many things will happen that you have never seen before! Something will come up that will make you think will what if this happened and you will be better off because of it. Just make sure you go into each game trying to work on something new (postioning, signals, etc.) Don't let your mechanics slack off during rec games because they will follow you into bigger games.

Also if you are serious about it then you should try and do it year round so that you don't forget rules, mechanics, everything :eek:.

Good luck in the future.

All_Heart Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
If it's a throw in after a basket, and A1 is throwing it to A2 who steps OOB to receive the pass OOB(you know the play), then B1 reaches across to hit the ball while ball is still OOB, then yes it would be a technical foul! Correct?

You are correct!

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
You are correct!

If the team had been warned already, no? If it's the second offense, then it would be a technical.

jritchie Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:15pm

Wrong DC REf12, you only get a warning for breaking the plane without touching anything or anyone. It's an automatic T for coming across and hitting the ball! :)

DC_Ref12 Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Wrong DC REf12, you only get a warning for breaking the plane without touching anything or anyone. It's an automatic T for coming across and hitting the ball! :)

Ah, okay. Thanks for clarifying.

Back to the books for me!!! I have a test coming up probably at the end of April and hopefully I can pass that and get started doing some wreck league and AAU. I need the experience...

Mark Padgett Tue Mar 06, 2007 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shave-tail
1. 1/10 A10. The snap goes off QB A11's hands and the ball rolls to the A7. B21 bats the ball at the A8 and the ball rolls into the end zone where A22 picks up ball in the end zone, runs to the A30, fumbles and B22 recovers.
:D :D :D :D

That's easy - icing! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1