The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Go back and read the original post. The official granted team A a timeout. Granted! He may have granted the TO erroneously but he did grant the TO.
I agree that the case play is different from what is being discussed here.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
Does the case book situation referenced here also apply to NCAA? I was at a Univ. of Pittsburgh game a few years ago when Ben Howland was still the coach. He always used a play called "One Up." He said this in a game once, and a very very very very well known official, I won't mention names, thought he was asking for a time out and granted it. Howland explained he was calling a play, and the officials gave the ball back to Pitt for a TI at POI w/o charging a time out.
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 05:33pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I agree that the case play is different from what is being discussed here.
Glad I'm not the only one.

The intent of the word "erroneously," in my opinion, is to refer to the time out that should not be granted when requested, but is.

The coach didn't ask for it. Why should I not treat it as an IW? It *is* an IW!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 05:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I agree that the case play is different from what is being discussed here.
In what way?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 05:50pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
Glad I'm not the only one.

The intent of the word "erroneously," in my opinion, is to refer to the time out that should not be granted when requested, but is.

The coach didn't ask for it. Why should I not treat it as an IW? It *is* an IW!
I'm with you, Rich.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 06:02pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
I am with Mick.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
I'm w/ JRut.
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
In what way?
Not to speak for Bob, but Rule 5.8.3 deals with granting a TO to a player/head coach's oral or visual request and then goes on to specify when it can be granted... thus
5-8-3E is an example of what happens when a TO is REQUESTED per above but at a time when it should not be allowed. It does not address an Official calling a TO that a player/head coach did not request.

Therefore I can not believe it would be the intent of the rule to penalize a team on TO's if he honestly did not call one.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 06:33pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Not to speak for Bob, but Rule 5.8.3 deals with granting a TO to a player/head coach's oral or visual request and then goes on to specify when it can be granted... thus
5-8-3E is an example of what happens when a TO is REQUESTED per above but at a time when it should not be allowed. It does not address an Official calling a TO that a player/head coach did not request.

Therefore I can not believe it would be the intent of the rule to penalize a team on TO's if he honestly did not call one.
The case play stated that the official erroneously granted a timeout. The official screwed up iow. How is that any different than what happened in the original post? The official erroneously granted a TO in that case too when he shouldn't have.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
True and my only point of contention is that in the case sit., a TO was requested, in the OP it has not be requested.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
how is this IW any different than say an IW during a loose ball or ball in flight -- we just go to POe and play on?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
What I am trying to show, IMO, the Rule 5.8.3 states that a TO has to be requested ..... once that is done, it can only be granted under the conditions mentioned. If it is never requested, how can it be granted by rule?

If you believe the coach or player has requested one, then by all means enforce it, otherwise, IMO, go with IW as mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
If we're going with the case play and we have to grant the TO, what if we did it when the coach has no TOs left? Are we then to grant the timeout AND assess the technical foul that goes with it if the coach never requested the timeout?

I have a hard time believing that situation is what the case play is talking about. I've always felt it's that way in the case because once you blow the whistle to grant the TO, whether that team was in control or not, now you have a dead ball and they could legally be granted the TO anyway, so they get it.

I can't see any way I'm assessing a technical because I screwed up and didn't make sure the coach was actually requesting the TO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the time displayed as post time is way off chuck chopper General / Off-Topic 2 Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm
time expired/time outs cloverdale Basketball 14 Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:06am
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
Lag time when coach calls time out JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Mon Jan 12, 2004 03:43pm
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1