Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Not to speak for Bob, but Rule 5.8.3 deals with granting a TO to a player/head coach's oral or visual request and then goes on to specify when it can be granted... thus
5-8-3E is an example of what happens when a TO is REQUESTED per above but at a time when it should not be allowed. It does not address an Official calling a TO that a player/head coach did not request.
Therefore I can not believe it would be the intent of the rule to penalize a team on TO's if he honestly did not call one.
|
The case play stated that the official
erroneously granted a timeout. The official screwed up iow. How is that any different than what happened in the original post? The official
erroneously granted a TO in that case too when he shouldn't have.