The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 44
I don'te understand

How can team A never have control?? They dribbled it up to the front court. Isn't dribbling it up to the front court, control??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81artmonk
How can team A never have control?? They dribbled it up to the front court. Isn't dribbling it up to the front court, control??
To have a B/C violation, a player from team A would have to be the last to touch in F/C and the first to touch in B/C. Since the ball hit B1, B1 was the last to touch in F/C. No violation. Rut was incorrect. Team A did have team control.
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson)
Z
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 12:09pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebraman
To have a B/C violation, a player from team A would have to be the last to touch in F/C and the first to touch in B/C. Since the ball hit B1, B1 was the last to touch in F/C. No violation. Rut was incorrect. Team A did have team control.
I did not say Team A did not have control. I said it was not a factor at that point. Just having Team Control does not make a violation in itself.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I did not say Team A did not have control. I said it was not a factor at that point. Just having Team Control does not make a violation in itself.

Peace
Your exact quote was "Team A never gained control in the FC." That is not true. I was just pointing out that to be incorrect so that 81artmonk would not be even more confused.
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson)
Z
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
JR misread your post -- however his answer is still correct -- TEAM A did not cause the ball to go to the backcourt TEAM B did. It doesnt matter what part of TEAM B player ball touches.

However if TEAM A player touches in FC again then ball goes backcourt and is recovered then its a BC violation.

Team control does not matter here.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81artmonk
How can team A never have control?? They dribbled it up to the front court. Isn't dribbling it up to the front court, control??
Yes, it's team control. And, yes, team control was never lost in your play. But, that's only one of the requirements to have a BC violation. Since A wasn't the last to touch the ball before it went to the BC, it's not a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 12:00pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

OK, let's all chime in on the four elements required to have a backcourt violation.

1) there must be team control
2) the ball must have achieved frontcourt status
3) the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt
4) that same team must be first to touch the ball after it has been in the backcourt

If any one of the four elements is not present, you do not have a violation - period.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 12:07pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81artmonk
How can team A never have control?? They dribbled it up to the front court. Isn't dribbling it up to the front court, control??
Art, you really need to invest in a rule book. (and I'm not saying that to be a smart-a$$)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Feb 20, 2007 at 12:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 44
com'n

BADNEWSREF, you use a qoute from me explaining control, and you tell me I need to get a rule book?? I have one, I use it. Sometimes I want outside opinions of people who are closer to the action. I just found your comment odd considering the qoute you used. that's all.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 12:24pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81artmonk
BADNEWSREF, you use a qoute from me explaining control, and you tell me I need to get a rule book?? I have one, I use it. Sometimes I want outside opinions of people who are closer to the action. I just found your comment odd considering the qoute you used. that's all.
I used that quote b/c having team control is not the only criteria for judging a B/C violation in your scenario. And JRut did not say Team A did not have team control, he said it was not a factor.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1