The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
yeah that might be it

that might well indeed be why I thought that LOL
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Team A did not gain control in the front court. The ball is hit off a Team B player in the FC and caroms into the back court. I see where you are going with this, but the point is Team A had nothing to do with the status of ball in the FC. The status of the ball is a huge part of any BC violation. Team control would not be a factor if they never had status in the FC. I think we are playing around with semantics, but from my point of view you have at least had to control the ball in the FC which did not take place in this play to even have a FC.
I realize some may call it this way, but it's not how the rule reads from what I can tell. Consider this scenario:
A1 passes the ball from his BC towards A2 in the FC. B1 leaps and tips the ball towards A3's leg (A3 is standing in the FC), where it bounces into the BC and is recovered by A1.
This has all the legal criteria for a BC violation. A had team control. The ball established FC position upon B1's tip, but team control did not end. A3 was the last to touch the ball in As front court. A1 was the first to touch it in the BC. It's a violation and no A player ever had player control in the FC.
Or, we could make this simpler. Skip B1 and we'll have A2 (standing in the FC) muff A1's pass (from the BC) back to the BC where A1 recovers it. Again, a violation without having player control established in the FC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Tue Feb 20, 2007 at 01:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Aaa

This was taught to me early on regarding backcourt. It's called the 3A(AAA) method. IF you don't have the any one of the 3-As then it can't be backcourt.

Did A have position in the front court? Was A the last to touch it in the front court? Was A the first to touch it in the backcourt?

In this case you're missing 2 of the 3. Team A never had front court status, nor were they the last one to touch it in the front court.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
This was taught to me early on regarding backcourt. It's called the 3A(AAA) method. IF you don't have the any one of the 3-As then it can't be backcourt.

Did A have position in the front court? Was A the last to touch it in the front court? Was A the first to touch it in the backcourt?

In this case you're missing 2 of the 3. Team A never had front court status, nor were they the last one to touch it in the front court.
"position" should've read possession or front court status.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
This was taught to me early on regarding backcourt. It's called the 3A(AAA) method. IF you don't have the any one of the 3-As then it can't be backcourt.

Did A have position in the front court? Was A the last to touch it in the front court? Was A the first to touch it in the backcourt?
I agree

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
In this case you're missing 2 of the 3. Team A never had front court status, nor were they the last one to touch it in the front court.
I disagree, in both the OP and Snaqwells post Team A had control. The ball gained front court status by being touched by a player in the Front Court. So we have 2 out of 3 so far in both posts...A has control, and the ball has been in the front court. All that is left is whether or not A was the last to touch it...in the OP they were not the last to touch it, as it went off of B, however in Snaqwells post the ball went off of A3, there we have it all three have been met, BC violation.
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I realize some may call it this way, but it's not how the rule reads from what I can tell. Consider this scenario:
A1 passes the ball from his BC towards A2 in the FC. B1 leaps and tips the ball towards A3's leg (A3 is standing in the FC), where it bounces into the BC and is recovered by A1.
This has all the legal criteria for a BC violation. A had team control. The ball established FC position upon B1's tip, but team control did not end. A3 was the last to touch the ball in As front court. A1 was the first to touch it in the BC. It's a violation and no A player ever had player control in the FC.
Or, we could make this simpler. Skip B1 and we'll have A2 (standing in the FC) muff A1's pass (from the BC) back to the BC where A1 recovers it. Again, a violation without having player control established in the FC.
I agree with this and would call the backcourt violation. This is a case play. 9.9.1 Situation C in an old caseplay book that I have.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
This was taught to me early on regarding backcourt. It's called the 3A(AAA) method. IF you don't have the any one of the 3-As then it can't be backcourt.

Did A have position in the front court? Was A the last to touch it in the front court? Was A the first to touch it in the backcourt?

In this case you're missing 2 of the 3. Team A never had front court status, nor were they the last one to touch it in the front court.
A does not need to have possession in the front court. A needs to have team control established. The ball needs to gain FC status; this does not require player control (or possession) in the FC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews
I agree



I disagree, in both the OP and Snaqwells post Team A had control. The ball gained front court status by being touched by a player in the Front Court. So we have 2 out of 3 so far in both posts...A has control, and the ball has been in the front court. All that is left is whether or not A was the last to touch it...in the OP they were not the last to touch it, as it went off of B, however in Snaqwells post the ball went off of A3, there we have it all three have been met, BC violation.

You're right. The ball had front court status when it touched a player or the floor in the front court. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
A does not need to have possession in the front court. A needs to have team control established. The ball needs to gain FC status; this does not require player control (or possession) in the FC.
Again you're correct. My AAA thinking was more in line with Team A already having team control in the front court. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 44
ok now I am confused

I read the last page of posts. And I am a little confused. Let me clear something up. Team A dribbled the ball up to the front court. looking for a pass. They attempted a pass and before it reached A2 it hits Team B in the butt. Causing the ball to go BC. Team A chases it down and regains possession. So team A had possession bringing it up past the HC line into the front court.

If I read you correctly, than regardless of possession it touched the other team, and thus it wouldn't be a BC violation?? Right?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
the key is who LAST touched it, and in your post it was B so yes since it was last touched by b in the front court, there is no back court violation
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2007, 12:18pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81artmonk
I read the last page of posts. And I am a little confused. Let me clear something up. Team A dribbled the ball up to the front court. looking for a pass. They attempted a pass and before it reached A2 it hits Team B in the butt. Causing the ball to go BC. Team A chases it down and regains possession. So team A had possession bringing it up past the HC line into the front court.

If I read you correctly, than regardless of possession it touched the other team, and thus it wouldn't be a BC violation?? Right?
Don't have a rulebook in front of me, but I'm thinking something in there or the casebook would answer this question for you.

Perhaps the official was right and you were wrong in this situation???
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1