The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
yeah that might be it

that might well indeed be why I thought that LOL
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Aaa

This was taught to me early on regarding backcourt. It's called the 3A(AAA) method. IF you don't have the any one of the 3-As then it can't be backcourt.

Did A have position in the front court? Was A the last to touch it in the front court? Was A the first to touch it in the backcourt?

In this case you're missing 2 of the 3. Team A never had front court status, nor were they the last one to touch it in the front court.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Team A did not gain control in the front court. The ball is hit off a Team B player in the FC and caroms into the back court. I see where you are going with this, but the point is Team A had nothing to do with the status of ball in the FC. The status of the ball is a huge part of any BC violation. Team control would not be a factor if they never had status in the FC. I think we are playing around with semantics, but from my point of view you have at least had to control the ball in the FC which did not take place in this play to even have a FC.
I realize some may call it this way, but it's not how the rule reads from what I can tell. Consider this scenario:
A1 passes the ball from his BC towards A2 in the FC. B1 leaps and tips the ball towards A3's leg (A3 is standing in the FC), where it bounces into the BC and is recovered by A1.
This has all the legal criteria for a BC violation. A had team control. The ball established FC position upon B1's tip, but team control did not end. A3 was the last to touch the ball in As front court. A1 was the first to touch it in the BC. It's a violation and no A player ever had player control in the FC.
Or, we could make this simpler. Skip B1 and we'll have A2 (standing in the FC) muff A1's pass (from the BC) back to the BC where A1 recovers it. Again, a violation without having player control established in the FC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Tue Feb 20, 2007 at 01:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2007, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I realize some may call it this way, but it's not how the rule reads from what I can tell. Consider this scenario:
A1 passes the ball from his BC towards A2 in the FC. B1 leaps and tips the ball towards A3's leg (A3 is standing in the FC), where it bounces into the BC and is recovered by A1.
This has all the legal criteria for a BC violation. A had team control. The ball established FC position upon B1's tip, but team control did not end. A3 was the last to touch the ball in As front court. A1 was the first to touch it in the BC. It's a violation and no A player ever had player control in the FC.
Or, we could make this simpler. Skip B1 and we'll have A2 (standing in the FC) muff A1's pass (from the BC) back to the BC where A1 recovers it. Again, a violation without having player control established in the FC.
I agree with this and would call the backcourt violation. This is a case play. 9.9.1 Situation C in an old caseplay book that I have.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1