The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2007, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11
Simple Question

During warmups while I was officiating a rec leaque of High School boys, a young man slam dunked the basketball. I started the game off with a Technical on the young man and administered two free throws. Was this the correct call and were can it be found in the rule book?







When you do not know what you're talking about, it is hard to know when you're finished.
__________________
Son of thunder
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2007, 05:42pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
10.3.4 SITUATION C: Fifteen minutes before the game is scheduled to start, team member A1 dunks. Two minutes later A2 dunks. RULING: A1 and A2 are both charged with a technical foul. In addition, the head coach is charged indirectly with a technical foul for each act. The two fouls are team fouls for purpose of reaching the bonus. When dunking occurs during the pregame practice period the official notifies the team member and the head coach, but does not sound the whistle. If the game is played in a state which utilizes the optional coaching box, the coach should be informed that he/she has lost the privilege of using the coaching box for the entire game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2007, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11
Thanks for the quick reply! How about if player A1 grabs the rim, with not ball, in a dunking motion during warmups?









When you do not know what you're talking about it is hard to know when you're finished.
__________________
Son of thunder
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2007, 06:27pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Man for All Seasons
Thanks for the quick reply! How about if player A1 grabs the rim, with not ball, in a dunking motion during warmups?
Rule 11.4.3 - "The player is to be inserted in a wood chipper".
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2007, 07:48pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Rule 11.4.3 - "The player is to be inserted in a wood chipper".
I gotta get me one of those new rule books.....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2007, 08:00pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
I gotta get me one of those new rule books.....
I have a limited edition Jon Diebler autographed copy.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Question - Justme Softball 9 Mon Sep 25, 2006 04:35pm
Simple Question? mopar60 Basketball 1 Wed Aug 02, 2006 03:58pm
simple question? chrs_schuster Basketball 1 Fri Jan 27, 2006 05:27pm
A Simple Question BBallinRick Basketball 13 Tue Jun 14, 2005 04:31am
simple question scyguy Basketball 1 Wed Dec 15, 2004 02:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1