The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 01:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Do you get 3 feet from the center of the spot throw?
Reply With Quote

I like to give one stride left or right with no depth limitation. Thrower in can back up as much as they want
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 05:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by OklahomaRef
Do you get 3 feet from the center of the spot throw?
No. The designated spot is three feet wide, so that would be one and half feet from the center of the spot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by mplagrow
Eighth grade girls, I'm T in a two man. Way down by the baseline, A1 goes to one knee to gather a loose ball. Right in front of my partner, she puts down her dribble and then stands up. I'm applauding her in my head. TWEET! Traveling! AAAARGH!

The coach knew the call was wrong and she just shook her head in disgust. I couldn't blame her.
What about 4-44 Art. 5 A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any part of the body other than and or foot.
b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
What about 4-44 Art. 5 A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any part of the body other than and or foot.
b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.
OP said she started a dribble, then stood up, legal.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Obviously I am new and learning so I enjoy these clarifications that everyone goes thru regardless how silly they seem to the old timers. It has always been planted in my head that if a player went down to recover a loose ball and got up without passing the ball first, it is traveling. Thus my interpretation from the rule I listed. If I understand you correctly, if the player starts their dribble before getting up there is no travel.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 12:30pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
If I understand you correctly, if the player starts their dribble before getting up there is no travel.
Now you've got it.

If a player secures control of the ball and THEN touches the floor with anything other than a hand or foot, it is a travel.

If a player secures control of the ball WHILE touching the floor with something other than a hand or foot, he may begin a dribble (or pass, or shoot, or request time-out). Once the dribble is started, he may get up off the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Aaah that makes it clearer. The before and after. Ha Now I can tell these kids the proper way to get up, instead of just calling the for traveling.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
What about 4-44 Art. 5 A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any part of the body other than and or foot.
b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.
The key is "loose ball".....
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
The key is "loose ball".....
I hate to be stubborn, but I am trying to find a rule that counters what this says, loose ball or otherwise. In my feeble mind Rule 4-44 Art. 5 (b) is referring to a loose ball that is now in control by a player that is touching the floor by something other than hand or foot. Thus by rule would not be able to get up. It does not make an exception for dribbling. Please tell me where to find the counter rule to this; I do not see anything regarding this in the Cartoon rule book either. I am sure it must be somewhere because everyone on the thread seems to agree with it.
Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
I hate to be stubborn, but I am trying to find a rule that counters what this says, loose ball or otherwise. In my feeble mind Rule 4-44 Art. 5 (b) is referring to a loose ball that is now in control by a player that is touching the floor by something other than hand or foot. Thus by rule would not be able to get up. It does not make an exception for dribbling. Please tell me where to find the counter rule to this; I do not see anything regarding this in the Cartoon rule book either. I am sure it must be somewhere because everyone on the thread seems to agree with it.
Thanks,
Splute, did you purchase the Case Play book along with you Rule Book?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 84
Section 44: Traveling
Article 1


Art. 1... A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor, may pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.


Art. 2... A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either foot may be the pivot.
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot.
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
b. If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.



[See corresponding Case Rule for Situation 4.44.2]


Art. 3... After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.



[See corresponding Case Rule for Situation 4.44.3]


Art. 4... After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.


Art. 5... A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.
b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.



[See corresponding Case Rule for Situation 4.44.5]


Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Yes I did. I have the Rules, Case Book, Illustrated and Officiating. I see Jcarter is breaking it down for me so let me look them up.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 09, 2007, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
I hate to be stubborn, but I am trying to find a rule that counters what this says, loose ball or otherwise. In my feeble mind Rule 4-44 Art. 5 (b) is referring to a loose ball that is now in control by a player that is touching the floor by something other than hand or foot. Thus by rule would not be able to get up. It does not make an exception for dribbling. Please tell me where to find the counter rule to this; I do not see anything regarding this in the Cartoon rule book either. I am sure it must be somewhere because everyone on the thread seems to agree with it.
Thanks,
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1