The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4
Throw in

Red team makes a basket. White team takes ball to inbound, and coach calls a time out. Can the white team still run the baseline to throw the ball in?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 09:23am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Smile

Bill, Bill, Bill...We need to get you a rulebook. I know you're new, but you seem like you want to learn and it really is so much easier when you start poring through the rulebook.

But to answer your question, yes, the privilege to run the baseline still exists after the time-out.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 01:37pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Also remember that once the white team grabs the ball, it is too late for the red team to call timeout. The red team must call the timeout before the opposition or white team, or team just scored on, gets control of the ball. If you do grant the timeout, endbound priviledges remain.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job
Can I get a rule number for this?? I have a co-worker wanting to know where the rule is......I swear I cant find it!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
i do not have my rule book here -- but look under the section regarding throw ins after a made basket.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 02:30pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Can I get a rule number for this?? I have a co-worker wanting to know where the rule is......I swear I cant find it!
7.5.7 Sit C (d)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Also remember that once the white team grabs the ball, it is too late for the red team to call timeout. The red team must call the timeout before the opposition or white team, or team just scored on, gets control of the ball. If you do grant the timeout, endbound priviledges remain.
WRONG! Wrong again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job
deecee, NEVER agree with anything that OS writes. It will only make you look bad when he is proven to be incorrect. As is the case here. Not only does he not have an NFHS Rules Book, but he is too lazy to read what's currently posted on the NFHS website.
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
yes and from what he wrote we can assume that the official has started the 5 count -- no need to micromanage all responses.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2007, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
WRONG! Wrong again.



deecee, NEVER agree with anything that OS writes. It will only make you look bad when he is proven to be incorrect. As is the case here. Not only does he not have an NFHS Rules Book, but he is too lazy to read what's currently posted on the NFHS website.
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.
Way to go Nevadaref!!!! When I first read OS's response, I had the same thought as you. I did not have my book to quote, plus I was leaving work to ref. So, I was going to wait until I came home. Never fear, you chimed in and set OS straight.
deecee, you should know not to give any credit to OS. Shame on you.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2007, 03:04pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
WRONG! Wrong again.



deecee, NEVER agree with anything that OS writes. It will only make you look bad when he is proven to be incorrect. As is the case here. Not only does he not have an NFHS Rules Book, but he is too lazy to read what's currently posted on the NFHS website.
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.
I didn't know this either, that good info to know. Thanks for sharing and correcting me.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2007, 03:07pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.
Thanks for sharing and correcting me. I did not know that. I'm sure this made your day. Try not to gloat to much....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oob throw-in oc Basketball 5 Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:10am
Throw-In Derrick Basketball 1 Wed Nov 23, 2005 08:10am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Tag, no tag, throw to first FUBLUE Softball 12 Mon May 17, 2004 08:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1