The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31322-throw.html)

Bill from Minn Tue Jan 30, 2007 09:10am

Throw in
 
Red team makes a basket. White team takes ball to inbound, and coach calls a time out. Can the white team still run the baseline to throw the ball in?

Thanks

Raymond Tue Jan 30, 2007 09:23am

Bill, Bill, Bill...We need to get you a rulebook. I know you're new, but you seem like you want to learn and it really is so much easier when you start poring through the rulebook.

But to answer your question, yes, the privilege to run the baseline still exists after the time-out.

Old School Tue Jan 30, 2007 01:37pm

Also remember that once the white team grabs the ball, it is too late for the red team to call timeout. The red team must call the timeout before the opposition or white team, or team just scored on, gets control of the ball. If you do grant the timeout, endbound priviledges remain.

deecee Tue Jan 30, 2007 01:55pm

also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job

IREFU2 Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job

Can I get a rule number for this?? I have a co-worker wanting to know where the rule is......I swear I cant find it!

deecee Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:29pm

i do not have my rule book here -- but look under the section regarding throw ins after a made basket.

mick Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Can I get a rule number for this?? I have a co-worker wanting to know where the rule is......I swear I cant find it!

7.5.7 Sit C (d)

wildcatter Tue Jan 30, 2007 05:53pm

Okay, let's take this a little bit farther.

What are all the non-common-fouls can occur during the throw-in? (so violations and technicals, but not personal fouls like a push/hold)

Team A has the throw-in (player A1 throwing it in), Team B is defending (player B1 defending the throw-in).

1) A1 does not throw the ball in within 5 seconds
2) A1 steps over the line when throwing the ball in.
3) A1 leaves the designated spot during the throw-in (not a traveling, right?).
4) B1 breaks the plane of the OOB line. (Violation? T?)

What else?

deecee Tue Jan 30, 2007 05:56pm

#3 -- only applies for spot throw ins not for throw ins following a made basket

wildcatter Tue Jan 30, 2007 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
#3 -- only applies for spot throw ins not for throw ins following a made basket

Right - sorry, let's assume it is a spot throw-in.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 30, 2007 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
Also remember that once the white team grabs the ball, it is too late for the red team to call timeout. The red team must call the timeout before the opposition or white team, or team just scored on, gets control of the ball. If you do grant the timeout, endbound priviledges remain.

WRONG! Wrong again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job

deecee, NEVER agree with anything that OS writes. It will only make you look bad when he is proven to be incorrect. As is the case here. Not only does he not have an NFHS Rules Book, but he is too lazy to read what's currently posted on the NFHS website.
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

deecee Tue Jan 30, 2007 07:00pm

yes and from what he wrote we can assume that the official has started the 5 count -- no need to micromanage all responses.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 30, 2007 07:46pm

You can assume that if you wish. I'll assume that he doesn't know the rules.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 30, 2007 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You can assume that if you wish. I'll assume that he doesn't know the rules.

Has anyone ever seen Old School and deecee in the same room?:eek:

:D

mick Tue Jan 30, 2007 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
#3 -- only applies for spot throw ins not for throw ins following a made basket

Oops !
The in-thrower may violate by leaving the endline spot.
  • From the endline extended he takes a step up the sideline.
  • From the endline he takes a step onto the bleachers.
;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1