![]() |
Quote:
For "holding", I generally try to follow the directions of rule 4-15-4--i.e.-- the ball comes to <b>rest</b> in one or both hands. |
Quote:
|
I agree
Quote:
Lets see the rule book is about a quarter inch thick and Webster is about 3 inches thick.. Probably a little more complete, but who is counting..;) So you have no problem with a player tapping the ball all the way down the court? |
We can only dream!!!!
Quote:
Maybe one day. We have to grow up sometimes,, we can't all be Peter Pan.:( |
Quote:
2. I don't know and I don't know. 3. What is the correct call to the situation in the original post? I don't know. That's why I posted it. I just emailed it to Chuck for submission as a new case book play. |
Quote:
|
Yes I would have a violation..
Quote:
The judgement would be if as an official I felt the player was in control or if they were fumbling. I understand fumbling is nothing but cleary tossing left to right hand, they are in control! Why would you not? Does the ball come to rest for a split second in either hand? I say yes. The rule book does not give a definition of timeframe the ball must be at rest. If it does please let me know where?:confused: |
Quote:
|
Yes
Quote:
Clearly the difference in a fumbling tap, a tap to get ball away from opponent and someone just tipping up and down to themselves would be seen.. It is just not all cut and dry. I am sure you can visualize the play I am referring to and would not allow it either... |
Quote:
That's just me though. |
Quote:
|
Near the end!
Quote:
1.) Tap left hand to right and running down the court, hands about a foot apart clearly controlling the balls direction... 2.) Tapping the ball vertical 6 inches just in the let hand while running down the court. Clearly controlling the bounce in the hand.. |
Quote:
That's just me though. |
Quote:
Legal??? |
Why?
Quote:
Second if you allow this because they are not holding per how you interpret the holding definition rule then you would also call the below. 1.) A1 in the offensive paint for exactly 3 seconds 2.) An exact 5 second closely guarded or throw in count 3.) An exact 10 second back court count |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18am. |