![]() |
Quote:
Or are you saying that we should call it by the tossing distance instead? Is tossing it 2 feet sideways from hand-to- hand different than tossing it 10 feet up in the air from hand-to-hand? At what distance then do we stop the count? two feet? Four feet? Sihgh.....so many questions, so few answers. |
Quote:
Please support your opinion. |
Quote:
Of course, please note that I still reserve all rights to piss other people off in this thread by asking similar dumb questions.:D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Too predictable
Quote:
[/QUOTE]He hasn't got the ball when he's tossing it from hand to hand, which is exactly the same as when he's tossing it up in the air. The only difference that I can see is that the ball is being tossed horizontally in one case and vertically in another. So.....it appears that you want to penalize "vertical" while letting horizontal get of scot free. Well, imo that just not <b>fair</b>!:mad: [/QUOTE] A foot toss in the air is the same, ten feet is not the same. It is all just judgement:rolleyes: [/QUOTE]Or are you saying that we should call it by the tossing distance instead? Is tossing it 2 feet sideways from hand-to- hand different than tossing it 10 feet up in the air from hand-to-hand? At what distance then do we stop the count? two feet? Four feet?[/QUOTE] I don't know would have to see it is all judgement.. [/QUOTE]Sihgh.....so many questions, so few answers.[/QUOTE] Still the same after so many years. Stupid sarcasm that solves nothing.:rolleyes: I have a answer for any quesiton you have and based on your posts the questions will be too ridiculously literal and I truly hope this is just you playing a game and not the way you ref!!!:D |
Yes, he is holding it!
Quote:
At what height would it be the same I would have to see it, but a 10 ft toss in the air that would never happen while not moving pivot ft and defender not getting, while a 5 sec closly guarded count is on, so it is not a player in control! This is judgement that is needed to advance:eek: |
Quote:
2. JR and I are merely applying the NFHS definition of player control given in 4-12-1. "A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds." 3. On your play above, I would NOT call a traveling violation. I would call an illegal dribble per 4.15.4 Sit E, which I referenced already in this thread. |
Quote:
If this is an illegal dribble, throwing the ball up 10 feet in the air is an interrupted dribble, so the count would stop. What do I win? |
Back at ya....
Quote:
2.) Maybe maybe not.... 3.) Not a big deal since it is still a violation. You could argue how can it be an illegal dribble since he has never pushed the ball to the floor. But I would have not problem with that. I would still say travel as I deem the player in control of the ball. |
Quote:
1) Rule 4-12-1 says that a player is in control <b>only</b> when he's <b>holding</b> or <b>dribbling</b> the ball. Soooooo....if you saying that the player is in control when the ball is in mid-air between his two hands, which act is that player doing? Is he <b>holding</b> the ball while it is in mid-air between the two hands? Or is he <b>dribbling</b> the ball while it's in the air between his two hands. By rule, those are the only two choices. Soooooooo.......which one is your pick?:confused: 2) You never answered the question. What is <b>your</b> judgement as to what distance is required to stop the count? Two feet? Four feet? Five feet and eleventeen inches? Is there any difference <b>by rule</b> also as to whether the distance can be vertical or horizontal? How can we possibly know when to stop the count if we don't know <b>exactly</b> what distance and direction is needed to stop the count?:confused: Inquiring minds need to know! (PS-rules citations to back up your answers would be helpful too. Please.) |
Quote:
|
If the key to this whole thing is the word "holding" then I submit the following.
What if the player is one of the Globetrotters? He spins the ball on his index finger, and keeps it going......and going. He is not technically "holding" the ball so not only is he not susceptible to the closely guarded count but neither could he be called for traveling. Nevada? |
Quote:
|
Refer to Nevadaref response
No need to reinvent the wheel. My response to Nevadref answers your questions.... As far as what distance it would vary. It would be judgement. As far as what rule. The same rule you are using. How do you know when NFHS uses the term holding they in all cases are using it as in a players hand. They could easily be using Websters version since ALL plays are not spelled out in the rule book.....
Some answers have just comon sense and as much as I hate to use it are backed by 2.3. "Points not specifically covered" As this is not and you seem to need to hang your hat on something in print, I use that one. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22am. |