![]() |
|
|
|||
In that order, no, the statement is false. You cannot have a foul called, and then have time run off the clock. The clock stops on the whistle, and becomes dead as soon as the try ends.
However, in the event that a foul was called, and the timer wasn't able to stop the clock in time, and the officials had no definite knowledge of the time the foul occurred, then I could see going with the FTs, and the period then ending. Last edited by NewNCref; Fri Jan 26, 2007 at 11:07pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
yes, you can shoot free throws after time expires. A foul can occurr with the clock so near expiration that the official does not see time on the clock before the horn sounds. Of course there are t-foul sitches also that can result in free throws with no time on the clock or 8:00 or 16:00 or 20:00 (whatever the quarter or half begins with)
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
Quote:
Drive, jump, shot, time expires, foul, shooter returns to the floor.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
The information that Johnny is looking for and maybe not getting is a critical element of officiating: the whistle and the horn do not make the ball dead. The horn only signals that playing time has expired and once a condition that makes the ball dead occurs the game will be over, except of course in OT or FT situations. So to answer the question, the ball is still live despite the horn sounding. In the case of a live ball not only could a foul be called on a player fouling an airborn shooter, but it could be called away from the shooter as well. It would certainly be a gutsy call, and once the horn sounds not to many players are going to be doing anything other than watching the shot, but if A1 releases a shot, the horn sounds, A2 shoves B1 under the basket, you could have a foul.
Also Mountaineer, you did answer your own question. If there are FT's still to be shot then the FT's for the T would be part of the quarter in which they happened, not OT. An interesting twist on this, however, is what to do if A is up by 4 points and they foul airborn shooter B1 after the horn has sounded; after deciding that the FT's will have no impact on the final score, and thus ruling that the FT's should not be taken, coach from A drops the F-bomb on you? This may be a whole new can of worms that will never happen and could fill an entire thread, but it semi-fits in here? Remember we've already determined that no FT's should be taken on the original foul after the horn when Coach A goes off, so does the T change that ruling? Do we run for the hills as to aviod a possible OT? What to do, what to do?
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() Anyway BoomerSooner provided the best answer to your original question. The ball is live during the try and ANY foul during this time, even one not by or on an airborne shooter, should be penalized. In order to conclusively prove what others have said, I'll point you to 5-6-2 Exception 3 in the rule book: "If a foul occurs so near the expiration of time that the timer cannot get the clock stopped before time expires or after time expires, but while the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal. The quarter or extra period ends when the free throw(s) and all related activity have been completed...." What your fellow official was talking about is the new rule change that lag time has been eliminated. Therefore, you are allowed to put the exact time back on the clock, when the whistle sounded for the foul, if warranted and if you have definite knowledge. However, this does NOT mean that at least 0.1 MUST be on the clock whenever a foul occurs, as that official stated. We have shown that is untrue. Note that in NFHS, the correct time to put back on the clock is when the whistle is sounded because that is the signal that the timer uses to stop the clock. However, in an NCAA game, if the officials used the courtside monitor, the correct time to put back would be when the actual contact occurred. In this situation, it does not matter, under NCAA rules, when the whistle was blown. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|