The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2007, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Is it possible?

Is it possible to have time expired (0.0 seconds showing on the clock) and be shooting FTs? The horn did sound.

Seen a play tonight where a kid was fouled and they shot FTs.

Another ref in the gym was explaining to some people that there should be at least 0.1 on the clock because if there was a foul - the foul had to occur prior to the horn sounding and therfore time should be remaining.

I calmly said that this was possible. That if the try had left the shooter's hand and then the foul occured (which is what I saw, the shooter got hacked after the ball was gone) and the shooter was still an airborne shooter which he was that time could have expired.

This is apparently what the officials saw or for whatever reason they allowed the FTs with the lane cleared and that was the end of the quarter.

Correct? or is the other ref correct in saying time has to be put back on the clock?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2007, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 261
Continuous Motion principles applies to an airborne shooter who has not yet returned to the floor. So here's a possiblity: The ball left the shooter's hands, time expired while the shot was in flight, the shooter was fouled on the return to the floor.

So, it is possible to have FTs with no time left on the clock, however, I can't speak as to this particular case, because I wasn't the official and didn't see the play.

Last edited by NewNCref; Fri Jan 26, 2007 at 10:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2007, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
I understand you did not see the play. Let's forget about the play I described.

True or False.

You can have a foul called and then have the time on the clock be expired?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2007, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 261
In that order, no, the statement is false. You cannot have a foul called, and then have time run off the clock. The clock stops on the whistle, and becomes dead as soon as the try ends.

However, in the event that a foul was called, and the timer wasn't able to stop the clock in time, and the officials had no definite knowledge of the time the foul occurred, then I could see going with the FTs, and the period then ending.

Last edited by NewNCref; Fri Jan 26, 2007 at 11:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2007, 11:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
That was worded poorly and not what I was trying to say.

True or False:

A foul may be called on B1 after A1 has released the try, but yet to return to the floor and the horn had sounded and time expired.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2007, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
JOHNNY -- the @#$#@ answer is yes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2007, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 261
That is true (at least it is to the best of my knowledge, perhaps someone else can either support me or let me know if I'm wrong)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1