The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   travel or play on (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31105-travel-play.html)

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 22, 2007 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SeanFitzRef
Player leaps in the air, fumbles the ball, regains posession, lands. That isn't a travel?

Definitely not in college. Not clear in HS. But I've always liked the guideline that you can always recover your own fumble. This seems to fall under that guideline. Since the ball was fumbled, player control is lost. That makes it ok to recover and land.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SeanFitzRef
Cam, Cam, Cam.

Read the OP.

Player leaps in the air, fumbles the ball, regains posession, lands. That isn't a travel?

WOW!!
I think NFHS 4.44.3b says this is the case.

I don't have a current casebook handy but I to have an older one:

Quote:

4.43.3 SITUATION B: A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. Ruling: A1 has traveled as one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling.
Is this the case you're talking about? If so, it is only remotely related to the OP. This case is covering the case where the player starts a dribble after jumping. Fumbling the ball is NOT a dribble.

Except for explicily listed exceptions you can't travel unless you're holding the ball or start a dribble after lifting the pivot foot or jumping (both of which also require holding the ball first).

The exceptions are:
  • sitting the ball on the floor then getting up and picking up the ball
  • tossing the ball over an oppenents head and catching it before it hits the ground
These are all deliberate actions intended to get around a rule or to gain an advantage that have been deemed illegal by intent.

There is no support for a travel when a player accidentally loses control of the ball. In fact, there are several case plays that do say a player can retrieve a fumbled ball without traveling and without committing an illegal dribble....even if they do move their feet.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust

There is no support for a travel when a player accidentally loses control of the ball.

There is no rules support for making a call either way under NFHS rules.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There is no rules support for making a call either way under NFHS rules.

Yes there is. If it is not listed as illegal, it is legal....no call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1