The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   travel or play on (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31105-travel-play.html)

kref Mon Jan 22, 2007 09:03am

travel or play on
 
A1 goes up for a shot being gaurded by B1. B1 knocks the ball out of A1 hands while A1 on his way up for shot. A1 regains control of ball while in air and returns to floor. Is this traveling or not??:confused:
nfhs

IREFU2 Mon Jan 22, 2007 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kref
A1 goes up for a shot being gaurded by B1. B1 knocks the ball out of A1 hands while A1 on his way up for shot. A1 regains control of ball while in air and returns to floor. Is this traveling or not??:confused:
nfhs

Nope, no travel, play on.

SmokeEater Mon Jan 22, 2007 09:23am

Here's a twist, same sitch, only this time player just fumbles the ball in the air but is able to regain control before landing. What ya got now?

kref Mon Jan 22, 2007 09:27am

irefu2
That's what I thought but cannot find a clear cut answer in the case book.

IREFU2 Mon Jan 22, 2007 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kref
irefu2
That's what I thought but cannot find a clear cut answer in the case book.

I think the thing here is control. Once the ball is release for a shot, then the player can get the ball back, plus it was blocked which allows him to recover it also.

SECTION 5 ILLEGAL DRIBBLE
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 . . . A try for field goal.
ART. 2 . . . A bat by an opponent.
ART. 3 . . . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Here's a twist, same sitch, only this time player just fumbles the ball in the air but is able to regain control before landing. What ya got now?

We argued this one to death before, with no definitive ruling or consensus iirc. Some say travel(me). Some say legal.

wfd21 Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:02am

JR, NCAA 4-18.4 A.R.82 says it is ok to recover in the air and land. Can not start a dribble.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wfd21
JR, NCAA 4-18.4 A.R.82 says it is ok to recover in the air and land. Can not start a dribble.

That was brought out too during the extensive discussion. There's no similar ruling available in NFHS.

wfd21 Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:19am

I agree. Would like to see a case play in NFHS rule book.

btaylor64 Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Here's a twist, same sitch, only this time player just fumbles the ball in the air but is able to regain control before landing. What ya got now?

Don't interfere with flow or play by blowing a whistle on a play that you think is a walk. If you don't know and/or are unsure, don't blow, you've just disrupted the game with a guess and an uneducated one at that.

deecee Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:29pm

bbtaylor64 are you the authority on when an official makes an eneducated guess?

SeanFitzRef Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Here's a twist, same sitch, only this time player just fumbles the ball in the air but is able to regain control before landing. What ya got now?

Travel in this sitch. No shot attempt, no contact by another player, just jumping in the air and fumbling the ball? Pivot foot lifted off the floor, must do something with the ball.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SeanFitzRef
Travel in this sitch. No shot attempt, no contact by another player, just jumping in the air and fumbling the ball? Pivot foot lifted off the floor, must do something with the ball.

It is a travel to start a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. What this the case? No. A fumble is not a dribble.

It is a travel to move the feet beyond certain limits while holding the ball. Did this happen? No, the player was not holding the ball.

SeanFitzRef Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:30pm

Cam, Cam, Cam.

Read the OP.

Player leaps in the air, fumbles the ball, regains posession, lands. That isn't a travel?

WOW!!
I think NFHS 4.44.3b says this is the case.

Jimgolf Mon Jan 22, 2007 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SeanFitzRef
WOW!!
I think NFHS 4.44.3b says this is the case.

4.44.3b refers to after a pivot foot being established. Can you jump for a shot without establishing a pivot foot?

It also refers to a player "holding" the ball, while here, we're talking about a fumble.

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 22, 2007 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SeanFitzRef
Player leaps in the air, fumbles the ball, regains posession, lands. That isn't a travel?

Definitely not in college. Not clear in HS. But I've always liked the guideline that you can always recover your own fumble. This seems to fall under that guideline. Since the ball was fumbled, player control is lost. That makes it ok to recover and land.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SeanFitzRef
Cam, Cam, Cam.

Read the OP.

Player leaps in the air, fumbles the ball, regains posession, lands. That isn't a travel?

WOW!!
I think NFHS 4.44.3b says this is the case.

I don't have a current casebook handy but I to have an older one:

Quote:

4.43.3 SITUATION B: A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. Ruling: A1 has traveled as one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling.
Is this the case you're talking about? If so, it is only remotely related to the OP. This case is covering the case where the player starts a dribble after jumping. Fumbling the ball is NOT a dribble.

Except for explicily listed exceptions you can't travel unless you're holding the ball or start a dribble after lifting the pivot foot or jumping (both of which also require holding the ball first).

The exceptions are:
  • sitting the ball on the floor then getting up and picking up the ball
  • tossing the ball over an oppenents head and catching it before it hits the ground
These are all deliberate actions intended to get around a rule or to gain an advantage that have been deemed illegal by intent.

There is no support for a travel when a player accidentally loses control of the ball. In fact, there are several case plays that do say a player can retrieve a fumbled ball without traveling and without committing an illegal dribble....even if they do move their feet.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust

There is no support for a travel when a player accidentally loses control of the ball.

There is no rules support for making a call either way under NFHS rules.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There is no rules support for making a call either way under NFHS rules.

Yes there is. If it is not listed as illegal, it is legal....no call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1