![]() |
|
|
|||
Did I kick this
Hey had this today and I think I may have been wrong.
1 second left in the game. team A is leading by 2. Team A is to imbound. As A1 releases the ball B1 stays is his plane does not cross the out of bounds line and bats the ball right back to A1 who is out of bounds whistle out of A1. HERE is the problem. I am trail and watching clock, I hear Whistle then Horn clearly. I am the R and call the U over to talk. I ask was the player over the line. He says no. then we talk about putting time on. He had no idea either so I applied the idea that the game is not over when the clock hits 0 but when the horn sounds. So since we can not put 10ths of seconds on this clock I instruct the clock to put 1 second left on the clock. Now another clicker. I saw 1 on the clock when the whislte blew so I had definate knowledge and when the A coach called timeout and that is how i explained it too im needless to say he was mad. I question myself because it seems like some time had to have run off for this play. Game ended up A winning but did i apply the correct rule. From my little research here is what I have found, please help me learn tho. For my choice 5-8-1 Against my choice 5-6 exception 1 ( this was not a violation tho so I do not think this applys) Thank you and sorry for the long post. |
|
|||
If you saw one second on the clock after hearing the whistle, then 1 second is the correct time to put back due the rule change this season removing lag time.
If you didn't see the clock, then the quarter ends with the violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
When B1 touched the throw-in inbounds, the clock was supposed to start as per rule 5-9-4. When A1 was subsequently touched OOB by the ball, the clock was supposed to be stopped, as per rule 5-8-1(c). Well......I'd kinda think that starting and then stopping the clock would take a second if the timer has normal reflexes. Iow, there had to be some time used up on this play. And....the clock must have started because the horn went off. Which means that I'll leave you folks to figger out what to do because I gotta go water the dogs. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I've got 'game over'. Definite knowledge of the time ceased as the ball was touched. But why were you watching the inbounder if you were not administering the throw in?
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Game over here.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun "Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I know that those quick deflections OOB on a throw-in make it tough to chop time, then whistle to stop the clock. I still have game over if the ball was touched inbounds. Did your partner just explain the whole play to you? It just seemed to me from your whole explanation that you witnessed the play. I apologize if I mis-interpreted.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
I guess I don't understand what the clock was like.
Did it have tenths of seconds? If not then if your partner (not you) thinks less than 1 second elapsed from inbounds touch to OOB then put 1 second back up. If it had tenths of seconds then your partner (not you) needs to know how much time elapsed and subtract that from 1 second. In either case if it was more than 1 second in your partner's judgement then the game is ovah. It has to be your partner's decision because you admitted you were looking at the clock and not the play.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
1 second left in the game. team A is leading by 2. Team A is to imbound
This is from the original post. Mis-spelling aside, it appears that the clock showed 0:01 and must have been stopped when the inbound play began. He did not glance up according to his post to see the one second at the whistle. He said there was one second left when Team A is inbounding. I still have this as 'game over' as the touch by the other team on the throw-in started the clock.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
The referee does not know if the timer started the clock correctly, however, he also does not know that he didn't "time in" when B1 touched the ball. The only definite knowledge that the ref. had was that there was on second on the clock when the ball was being inbounded and there was one second on the clock when the whistle blew. Since there could have been just under two "actual" seconds in the game (the board not displaying tenths, so we don't know for sure), and as described, the play could have taken less than a second, and it is entirely possible that the timer did start the clock properly, and since the ref had "definite knowledge" that the board was displaying 1 second when the whistle went off, I'm having a hard time grasping why the referee shouldn't put the one second back on the clock and give the ball to Team B to inbound. ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
kick off | yankeesfan | Football | 2 | Sat Sep 03, 2005 09:50am |
Kick off | kkid091 | Football | 6 | Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:22pm |
Kick or no? | ChuckElias | Basketball | 26 | Mon Feb 16, 2004 01:20pm |
Kick This! | JMN | Football | 2 | Fri Jan 10, 2003 01:57pm |
fan tell me i am going to kick your ass! | joselirizarry | Basketball | 7 | Wed Jan 31, 2001 08:56pm |