Thread: Did I kick this
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2007, 10:05pm
fonzzy07 fonzzy07 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If I'm reading this right, A1 made a legal throw-in. B1 legally touched the throw-in in bounds. B1 then bats the ball and it hits A1 who is still OOB, causing a violation by A1. Iow, B1 should now get the ball for the throw-in because of the violation.

When B1 touched the throw-in inbounds, the clock was supposed to start as per rule 5-9-4. When A1 was subsequently touched OOB by the ball, the clock was supposed to be stopped, as per rule 5-8-1(c). Well......I'd kinda think that starting and then stopping the clock would take a second if the timer has normal reflexes. Iow, there had to be some time used up on this play. And....the clock must have started because the horn went off.

Which means that I'll leave you folks to figger out what to do because I gotta go water the dogs.
Thank you, this just summed up my problem. It seemed like some time should have run off. I guess the clock guy messed up, but still i had to go with what I saw on the clock didnt I?
Reply With Quote