The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Daddy
What is a Two Signal?
If it's close, I'll point to the table with 2 fingers.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjbofficial
If it's close, I'll point to the table with 2 fingers.
That might be the source of the coach's confusion. That is not an NFHS mechanic and not everyone does it. Here anyway. We were warned in a clinic to try and avoid it.

If you must, or choose to signal two's, do it discreetly after traveling down court and not right at the point the bll is released.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 09:27pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Daddy
That might be the source of the coach's confusion. That is not an NFHS mechanic and not everyone does it. Here anyway. We were warned in a clinic to try and avoid it.

If you must, or choose to signal two's, do it discreetly after traveling down court and not right at the point the bll is released.
NFHS Annual bulletin put out in 2005 says to blow your whistle and signal "2" to the scorer's table.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 09:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Not Sure

I'm not sure that this situation falls under the time frame guidelines of the correctable error. It may be a clerical error situation, which can be corrected until the officials leave the confines of the gymnasium at the end of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 02:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Daddy
That might be the source of the coach's confusion. That is not an NFHS mechanic and not everyone does it. Here anyway. We were warned in a clinic to try and avoid it.

If you must, or choose to signal two's, do it discreetly after traveling down court and not right at the point the bll is released.
I thought that the covering official was to indicate two points when there was doubt as to whether the try was a two or a three. I don't recall where I read this, perhaps in the Officials Manual. Someone will come along and post the reference, if it exists.

Otherwise, my only comment in this thread is that Rut is correct. This is a correctable error situation. It is for erroneously counting or cancelling a score. There are even case book plays which say so.


2.10.1 SITUATION F: A1 attempts a goal from behind the three-point line: (a) but the covering official fails to give the successful signal after the ball goes through the basket, and the scorer records only two points; or (b) and the covering official gives the successful signal, but the scorer records only two points. Team B inbounds the ball and proceeds to score. The coach of Team A goes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss the error. RULING: In (a), the error of not awarding three points is correctable as it was detected prior to the second live ball after the error. The extra point is scored, the 60-second time-out is not charged and the game continues from the point of interruption. In (b), it is a mistake by the scorer which can be corrected any time until the final score has been approved.

2.10.1 SITUATION G: A1 jumps and releases a try for goal apparently from behind the three-point line. The try is successful. The covering official does not indicate a three-point try and does not signal three points after the goal. The Team A coach rushes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss a correctable error. It is determined neither official clearly observed A1's location before he/she jumped to try. RULING: No change can be made and two points are properly scored. The 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A. (5-8-4)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 06:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
I don't think this is a matter of whether it's correctable or not. I think the issue is that there's no direct knowledge whether it's a 3 or a 2. In that case, go with what's called and play on.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 11:03am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
It does matter if this is correctable or not. Remember, the officials signaled what the points were. This was not like the table just put something down without any verification. The coach was questioning because they can see much better than the officials who are standing next to the play. So if you signaled a 3 point shot and you did not change it immediately, you have a time frame in which to change it or it is too late. It would be no different if you had a shooting foul and you count a basket that did not go in. You cannot go back after several minutes when the ball has been dead, alive, dead, and alive again and change the score. This is why we talk a lot about changing a dispute over a 3 or a 2 immediately. Now if the score keeper put up a 2 when you clearly signaled a 3, that can be changed at anytime.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
It does matter if this is correctable or not. Remember, the officials signaled what the points were. This was not like the table just put something down without any verification. The coach was questioning because they can see much better than the officials who are standing next to the play. So if you signaled a 3 point shot and you did not change it immediately, you have a time frame in which to change it or it is too late. It would be no different if you had a shooting foul and you count a basket that did not go in. You cannot go back after several minutes when the ball has been dead, alive, dead, and alive again and change the score. This is why we talk a lot about changing a dispute over a 3 or a 2 immediately. Now if the score keeper put up a 2 when you clearly signaled a 3, that can be changed at anytime.

Peace
I think you missed my point. I understand that it can be too late to change it even if you're sure you know what happened. My point is, let's say it's still correctable. Is there any way you can justly change it from a 3 to a 2 when you signalled 3 and your partner has no recollection of the play?
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 13, 2007, 02:32am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by mplagrow
I think you missed my point. I understand that it can be too late to change it even if you're sure you know what happened. My point is, let's say it's still correctable. Is there any way you can justly change it from a 3 to a 2 when you signalled 3 and your partner has no recollection of the play?
If you have definite knowledge of course you can make a change. But you have to have definite knowledge. Remember the coach is the one complaining, it is not like anyone saw anything. I think you missed my point, this falls under the correctable error rule and this situation has to be corrected in a certain time frame. If it is not corrected, it is too late and you have to live with it. It is never a bookkeeping mistake when the officials screw up on awarding or not awarding points properly.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Point of interuption or not?? VaCoach Basketball 2 Wed Jan 18, 2006 08:10am
What's the point? refTN Basketball 11 Thu Aug 11, 2005 05:24am
What's the Point? tarheelcoach Basketball 63 Thu Jan 27, 2005 04:32pm
At what point..... w_sohl Baseball 2 Mon May 10, 2004 01:01pm
at what point George Heagerty Basketball 14 Mon Dec 27, 1999 04:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1