![]() |
Slapping backboard
Saw an interesting play some time back. What would you have called? A is in a fast break. A5 puts up a shot in the paint from about 8 feet. While ball was in the air, B12 jumps up from about the last block and slaps the backboard. Not really an attempt to block or at best a very bad attempt... just a slap. What would you have called?
|
T <i></i>
|
This is why we get paid the big bucks. It is hard to tell by your description what really was happening. But if the slap had nothing to do with a block, then call the T.
Peace |
A play similar to this seems to happen to me every night.
If the defender is making a legitimate attempt - in the official's judgement - to block the shot ... play on. If not, it's a T. The next part to this is always if the ball is IN the cylinder. You could have BI or again ... nothing and play on. Am I correct veteran oficials? |
How do you have BI? The backboard is not part of the basket. It's a T or nothing.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
GT is hitting the ball on the way down above the basket ring when the shot has a chance to go in. GT also applies after the ball leaves a FT shooter's hands while it is still outside the cylinder, but it also only applies to an <b>opponent</b> of the FT shooter. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Personally I like "the cone of silence" (from an old TV sitcom) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Good responses. In the game I watched all three whistles remained silent. I've worked with these guys and watched them for years. These were three GOOD guys. I didn't get to talk to them after the game so I can only surmise that either they felt it was a bad but legitimate attempt to block or that the slap, which wasn't very hard didntt shake the basket or have an impact upon the shot. My instinct tells me #1.
|
The impact on the shot shouldn't matter, by rule. If the slap is a legimate attempt at a block, it's not a tech no matter what the shot does. If the shot is not a legitimate block attempt, it is a tech no matter what the shot does.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I get the concept now. A cylinder is like Dilbert's head. A cone is like your head. Thanks for clearing that up, Mr. Dexter. I just nominated you for Teacher of the Year. |
Quote:
Ciao Two parallel straight lines intersect at a point at infinity, when they don't care any more. |
[QUOTE=eg-italy]Well, if you consider points at infinity in projective geometry :eek:, a cylinder may be considered as a cone. But an exposition of projective geometry in three-dimensional space seems a bit off-topic here, doesn't it? :D
Ciao ____________________________________ We don't know if it's off topic or not because most of us don't have the foggiest idea what you just said! :confused: But somehow we just inherently know it has nothing whatsoever to do with slapping a dad gum backboard!:D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
To return on topic, and add to confusion, with FIBA rules it is BI to touch the backboard, but only when the ball is in contact with the ring. Slapping the backboard can be BI, if in the official's judgment this influences the result of the shot (no T, no provision for a legitimate attempt to block the shot). Ciao |
FEEBLE has a lot more problems that just not knowing the difference in a cone and a cylinder. :)
You can swat the ball off the rim but you can't slap the backboard while the ball is on the rim...yeah, that makes a lot of sense. |
Quote:
If you want to know another pearl, here it is. A shot ends when the ball touches the ring. Yes, you read correctly. If a player reaches through the basket and touches the ball after it has touched the ring, it is a simple violation, not BI, provided the ball is not inside the basket (i.e., it has not any part inside it, under the rim level). :o For example, if the ball is rolling on the rim and a defensive player reaches through the basket touching the ball, there is no BI, but only a throw-in for the offense. :( Returning to more serious things: what do you do if a player (under NFHS or NCAA) merely brushes the net when the ball is on the rim? Ciao |
Best line concerning this I've ever heard-
Coach: He slapped the backboard - that's a T! Ref: He didn't slap it hard enough coach. Coach: How hard does he have to slap it? Ref: Harder than that! I wish I had been the one to say that . . . :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06pm. |