The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Slapping backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30653-slapping-backboard.html)

eg-italy Sat Jan 06, 2007 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
A cone needs to come to a point, so I don't think it applies to the BI rule. - Mr. Annoying Geometry Guy.

Well, if you consider points at infinity in projective geometry :eek:, a cylinder may be considered as a cone. But an exposition of projective geometry in three-dimensional space seems a bit off-topic here, doesn't it? :D

Ciao

Two parallel straight lines intersect at a point at infinity, when they don't care any more.

refnrev Sat Jan 06, 2007 04:44pm

[QUOTE=eg-italy]Well, if you consider points at infinity in projective geometry :eek:, a cylinder may be considered as a cone. But an exposition of projective geometry in three-dimensional space seems a bit off-topic here, doesn't it? :D

Ciao

____________________________________

We don't know if it's off topic or not because most of us don't have the foggiest idea what you just said! :confused: But somehow we just inherently know it has nothing whatsoever to do with slapping a dad gum backboard!:D

BktBallRef Sat Jan 06, 2007 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
We don't know if it's off topic or not because most of us don't have the foggiest idea what you just said! :confused: But somehow we just inherently know it has nothing whatsoever to do with slapping a dad gum backboard!:D

It must have been in Italian. ;)

eg-italy Sat Jan 06, 2007 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
We don't know if it's off topic or not because most of us don't have the foggiest idea what you just said! :confused: But somehow we just inherently know it has nothing whatsoever to do with slapping a dad gum backboard!:D

Really you don't know about projective geometry? :D If so, I'm sorry: it was only to justify Jurassic for his "cone-cylinder" confusion. ;) Maybe it was for the reason they couldn't distinguish between a cone and a cylinder that FIBA decided to delete the cylinder above basket concept from their rules. :rolleyes:

To return on topic, and add to confusion, with FIBA rules it is BI to touch the backboard, but only when the ball is in contact with the ring. Slapping the backboard can be BI, if in the official's judgment this influences the result of the shot (no T, no provision for a legitimate attempt to block the shot).

Ciao

BktBallRef Sat Jan 06, 2007 06:05pm

FEEBLE has a lot more problems that just not knowing the difference in a cone and a cylinder. :)

You can swat the ball off the rim but you can't slap the backboard while the ball is on the rim...yeah, that makes a lot of sense.

eg-italy Sat Jan 06, 2007 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
FEEBLE has a lot more problems that just not knowing the difference in a cone and a cylinder. :)

You can swat the ball off the rim but you can't slap the backboard while the ball is on the rim...yeah, that makes a lot of sense.

You can't even touch the backboard or the basket, when the ball is on the rim!

If you want to know another pearl, here it is. A shot ends when the ball touches the ring. Yes, you read correctly. If a player reaches through the basket and touches the ball after it has touched the ring, it is a simple violation, not BI, provided the ball is not inside the basket (i.e., it has not any part inside it, under the rim level). :o For example, if the ball is rolling on the rim and a defensive player reaches through the basket touching the ball, there is no BI, but only a throw-in for the offense. :(

Returning to more serious things: what do you do if a player (under NFHS or NCAA) merely brushes the net when the ball is on the rim?

Ciao

Mountaineer Sat Jan 06, 2007 07:24pm

Best line concerning this I've ever heard-

Coach: He slapped the backboard - that's a T!

Ref: He didn't slap it hard enough coach.

Coach: How hard does he have to slap it?

Ref: Harder than that!

I wish I had been the one to say that . . . :D

Camron Rust Sat Jan 06, 2007 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy
Returning to more serious things: what do you do if a player (under NFHS or NCAA) merely brushes the net when the ball is on the rim?

Ciao

By the book: BI. In practice, nothing.

BktBallRef Sat Jan 06, 2007 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy
You can't even touch the backboard or the basket, when the ball is on the rim!

If you want to know another pearl, here it is. A shot ends when the ball touches the ring. Yes, you read correctly. If a player reaches through the basket and touches the ball after it has touched the ring, it is a simple violation, not BI, provided the ball is not inside the basket (i.e., it has not any part inside it, under the rim level). :o For example, if the ball is rolling on the rim and a defensive player reaches through the basket touching the ball, there is no BI, but only a throw-in for the offense. :(

That\'s pretty FEEBLE as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1