The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It's possible as per NFHS rule 10-3-5(a).
Thank you. I was thinking perhaps his hand just accidentally brushed against the rim, since none of the refs saw it. I would think if he grabbed it or used it for leverage to gain an advantage it would be seen. Hard to say based on the post how it was actually touched.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 05:20pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
Thank you. I was thinking perhaps his hand just accidentally brushed against the rim, since none of the refs saw it. I would think if he grabbed it or used it for leverage to gain an advantage it would be seen. Hard to say based on the post how it was actually touched.
That's exactly why I said that it was always a judgement call, Smitty. "Accidentally" is OK. Gaining an advantage isn't. Mileage may vary.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
Thank you. I was thinking perhaps his hand just accidentally brushed against the rim, since none of the refs saw it. I would think if he grabbed it or used it for leverage to gain an advantage it would be seen. Hard to say based on the post how it was actually touched.
I was just trying to give a few "hints" as to what an official may call. That is also why I muddled it with a possible correctable error call.

As usual...JR answered the sitch with references. Snagwells got what I was looking for as well.

If the crew had judged the touch to be an advantage...you have a T on A2.

JR...I didn't want to spoon feed this one...but, I was going to use the "picture book" reference on pg. 117... 10-3-6
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 05:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude
SnaQwells got what I was looking for as well.
I'm just saying....
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude
As usual...JR answered the sitch with references. Snagwells got what I was looking for as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I'm just saying....
Gee, I don't know, Adam. I kinda like the "snag" reference. like being a good rebounder? like Snagletooth the Lion? Snaq sort of sounds like a big oaf, or someone who eats too much. But I'll be merciful and abide by your preferences...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 100
Can I get in on this....I had not necessarily this same sitch, but, I had a guy in a jv game actually do a pullup on the rim. I only penalized the infraction but not the T but now I am wondering whether I should have done both?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontheref
Can I get in on this....I had not necessarily this same sitch, but, I had a guy in a jv game actually do a pullup on the rim. I only penalized the infraction but not the T but now I am wondering whether I should have done both?
The situation you described seems to me if he wasn't holding on to avoid injury it should have been a T.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 09:43am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontheref
Can I get in on this....I had not necessarily this same sitch, but, I had a guy in a jv game actually do a pullup on the rim. I only penalized the infraction but not the T but now I am wondering whether I should have done both?
A pull-up on the rim is a T. What is the infraction to which you are referring?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 09:45am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
A pull-up on the rim is a T. What is the infraction to which you are referring?
BI
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 09:50am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
BI
He didn't describe the play. He could have done a pull-up after mis-timing a rebound.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 11:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontheref
Can I get in on this....I had not necessarily this same sitch, but, I had a guy in a jv game actually do a pullup on the rim. I only penalized the infraction but not the T but now I am wondering whether I should have done both?
If it was BI, then you should have called both. This is per casebook play something.something.something, situation something.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I miss something?!? tjones1 Basketball 14 Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:42pm
Duke/Miss Snake~eyes Basketball 5 Mon Mar 21, 2005 01:15pm
Did I miss something in the book? Ref Ump Welsch Softball 3 Sat Aug 07, 2004 11:12pm
Kentucky/Miss. St. whistleone Basketball 27 Fri Jan 16, 2004 03:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1