![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
What is the fixation with the clock starting? Why is that being considered controlling? Why isn't the case being made that the point of no return is when the ball becomes live? Isn't that what determines the start of play? Consider the following play: The inbounder throws the ball across the court and it goes OOB untouched for a violation, but during this time an official notices that the defensive team has six people on the court. Would anyone really contend that this isn't a T since the clock never started? The fact that a turnover occurred obviously means that the defending team gained an advantage. They would now be getting the ball. What if the team with six on the floor commits a foul before the thrower releases the ball? Do we say that it isn't a problem because the fouler wasn't the sixth man or that the defense didn't gain an advantage? How about if we say that the sixth kid wasn't "participating" since he was just standing there or because he was in the process of leaving the court? There are so many was to twist this, but none of them can distort the fact that while the refs screwed up, one team did indeed break the rules and this is a technical foul. Just call it and move on with the game. Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Dec 24, 2006 at 10:56am. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Kill the Play or Not? | Fedex | Football | 9 | Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:05pm |
| Catcher hurt......do you kill the play? | JRutledge | Baseball | 63 | Sat Jan 21, 2006 06:18pm |
| oob throw-in | oc | Basketball | 5 | Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:10am |
| 3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |
| Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |