The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 21, 2006, 01:41pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Wait - but isn't that only if the player caught the ball while moving? In the OP, the player was standing still with both feet on the floor when the ball was caught. Couldn't they doo whatever they want at that point? (I.E. either foot can be a pivot; begin a dribble; pass; try?) I guess what I'm saying is, doesn't the pivot have to be established before a violation of 4-44-3c can occur? Or am I off, as usual?

Edited to include: Nevermind. Thought it through. I was confused. In this situation, both feet are acting as a pivot, since both are leaving the ground simultaneously, and the ball must be released for a dribble before that happens. Got it.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Thu Dec 21, 2006 at 01:44pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Traveling Question # 623 Larks Basketball 31 Tue Oct 09, 2007 02:29pm
Question about traveling violation bbcowboy Basketball 1 Mon Jan 31, 2005 08:19pm
traveling question lawref Basketball 7 Mon Dec 27, 2004 01:11pm
Traveling Question hendoo_32 Basketball 18 Fri Feb 27, 2004 11:23am
Another traveling question dsturdy5 Basketball 27 Mon Dec 09, 2002 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1