![]() |
Traveling question
A player receives a pass with both feet on the floor. Both feet remain on the floor until he jumps to pass the ball. While in mid-air, he changes his mind and drops the ball in front of him. After landing, he continues the dribble with one hand. Legal or not? I always thought this was illegal, but from some recent posts, I have learned that it is not a travel to pick up your pivot foot, but only to come back down with it. I now say legal. Am I right?
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Wait - but isn't that only if the player caught the ball while moving? In the OP, the player was standing still with both feet on the floor when the ball was caught. Couldn't they doo whatever they want at that point? (I.E. either foot can be a pivot; begin a dribble; pass; try?) I guess what I'm saying is, doesn't the pivot have to be established before a violation of 4-44-3c can occur? Or am I off, as usual?
Edited to include: Nevermind. Thought it through. I was confused. In this situation, both feet are acting as a pivot, since both are leaving the ground simultaneously, and the ball must be released for a dribble before that happens. Got it. |
Case play 4.44.3b
A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. Ruling: A1 has traveled as one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling. |
Thank you.
|
Quote:
Never mind. |
That's good stuff - I can't believe I glanced over that. Can I have RuleBook as my partner tonight?:)
|
Quote:
What are the odds more than half the coaches would not recognize our partner? (Due to having never seen him/her before?) |
About 5 years ago I stayed around after my JV game to watch Boys' V game. In consecutive trips I saw this called incorrectly (let go as legal) on white team, then a post player fumbled a ball which rolled about 5 ft away, and when he ran to it and picked it up he was whistled by same official for a travel. Sad part is, nobody said a word. I grabbed my stuff and went home.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30am. |