The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 12:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Just to add, she's not disqualified until the refs tell the coach. So, by rule, you can't call them for a T until she plays after the coach has been notified.
I don't T clerical errors. If you supplied correct information to the bench and they screw it up in the transfer, I'll let it go. If you just failed to give them all the players' numbers or didn't note the starters; that's not a clerical error.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
And, coach, I also want to say that I appreciate your asking the question as an honest question, and not just to try to "get back" at a ref for something. Some coaches come here legitimately to ask for information, like you did. But often, they're just in the mood for "fashing" and it gets unpleasant. With your attitude, you'll always be welcome here.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
And, coach, I also want to say that I appreciate your asking the question as an honest question, and not just to try to "get back" at a ref for something. Some coaches come here legitimately to ask for information, like you did. But often, they're just in the mood for "fashing" and it gets unpleasant. With your attitude, you'll always be welcome here.
Thank you, I appreciate the comment. I hate not knowing a rule - even worse, thinking I know it and don't have it write. So, let me ask one more question - occured in the same game...

Ball is being inbounded and one of my players breaks the plane and touches the ball before it enter the court... first violation. She was given a "T" foul. I asked the ref about a warning - my understanding of the rule was that the first violation was a warning, and subsequent violations would be a "T". The ruling the ref gave me was that the warning is for breaking the plane, but contact with the ball is an automatic "T"...

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:32pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Thank you, I appreciate the comment. I hate not knowing a rule - even worse, thinking I know it and don't have it write. So, let me ask one more question - occured in the same game...

Ball is being inbounded and one of my players breaks the plane and touches the ball before it enter the court... first violation. She was given a "T" foul. I asked the ref about a warning - my understanding of the rule was that the first violation was a warning, and subsequent violations would be a "T". The ruling the ref gave me was that the warning is for breaking the plane, but contact with the ball is an automatic "T"...

Thanks.
If she just breaks the plane, then it is only a warning (if it is the first one). If she makes contact with the ball it is an automatic T and it counts as a first warning also in case there is another boundary plane violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
If she just breaks the plane, then it is only a warning (if it is the first one). If she makes contact with the ball it is an automatic T and it counts as a first warning also in case there is another boundary plane violation.

Again...thanks to all...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
If she just breaks the plane, then it is only a warning (if it is the first one). If she makes contact with the ball it is an automatic T and it counts as a first warning also in case there is another boundary plane violation.
Don't forget - with the new rule in place this season, it also counts as the warning for any of the four delay situations.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Thank you, I appreciate the comment. I hate not knowing a rule - even worse, thinking I know it and don't have it write. So, let me ask one more question - occured in the same game...

Ball is being inbounded and one of my players breaks the plane and touches the ball before it enter the court... first violation. She was given a "T" foul. I asked the ref about a warning - my understanding of the rule was that the first violation was a warning, and subsequent violations would be a "T". The ruling the ref gave me was that the warning is for breaking the plane, but contact with the ball is an automatic "T"...

Thanks.
Now the ruling is slightly different if the Thrower had released the ball. Upon release, the defender is allowed to break the boundary plane and touch the ball without violating ANY rule.
Violation and fouls (as described) only apply if the thrower still has possession/control of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Just for completeness sake, there's one more aspect you should know. It the defender breaks the plane and fouls the thrower, it's an automatic intentional foul.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
I want to go back to the original question for a sec:

Quote:
Greetings all - this is my first post. What is the rule for a player continuing to play once over the 5 personal foul limit? I was coaching this weekend against a team that had a girl who had five fouls - the official score book (home team) said it was only four. Later, the girl got another foul - then it was realized that she actually had six fouls - which was agreed by the official scorer. What happens here? Should this be a technical foul? I know that playing a disqualified player is a direct technical against the coach, but she hadn't been disqualified yet - although she should have been. I thought it should have been a technical - but not sure here... just looking for an answer in case something like this happens again.
In FIBA (wich is international and european rules) this would be a bench technical to the coach (when a player commits his sixth foul the coach gets it insted).
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2006, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy voyager
I want to go back to the original question for a sec:



In FIBA (wich is international and european rules) this would be a bench technical to the coach (when a player commits his sixth foul the coach gets it insted).
Let me get this straight. In international competition, if the official book only has four fouls for a player, and that player is allowed to continue playing by the officials, when it's discovered that the official book is wrong, it's a T on the coach? Is this some kind of disincentive to keep the home (presumably the official book is the home book in most cases?) bookkeeper from fiddling the numbers?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2006, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
Now the ruling is slightly different if the Thrower had released the ball. Upon release, the defender is allowed to break the boundary plane and touch the ball without violating ANY rule.
Violation and fouls (as described) only apply if the thrower still has possession/control of the ball.
Really - So if the thrower releases the ball, and a defender breaks the boundary to touch the ball, there is NO violation??
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2006, 11:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Thank you, I appreciate the comment. I hate not knowing a rule - even worse, thinking I know it and don't have it write. So, let me ask one more question - occured in the same game...

Ball is being inbounded and one of my players breaks the plane and touches the ball before it enter the court... first violation. She was given a "T" foul. I asked the ref about a warning - my understanding of the rule was that the first violation was a warning, and subsequent violations would be a "T". The ruling the ref gave me was that the warning is for breaking the plane, but contact with the ball is an automatic "T"...

Thanks.
If they touch the ball, it is a T. The official was correct.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical on fan with :02 to go mplagrow Basketball 13 Fri Feb 10, 2006 03:44pm
Technical? Toadman15241 Basketball 16 Wed Jan 25, 2006 09:08am
T.V. Technical? RoyalsCoach Basketball 16 Sun Jan 01, 2006 04:13pm
Rule Clarification -- Technical FT's Indy_Ref Basketball 9 Mon Jan 27, 2003 04:12pm
Mark P. and the Technical Foul rule ChuckElias Basketball 3 Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1