The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2006, 08:38pm
mj mj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarp8902
If A1 is dribling and B1 deflects the ball into the backcourt. A1 retrieves and there is no violation. How is this different than if the ball touched A1 on the way to the backcourt? There is no control in either situation.

I know that you are correct, I just don't understand the difference.
Because if A1 was the last to touch, their touch is the reason it went into the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2006, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green
Remember the nBA rule is different and lots of people think we should call it like the NBA--- (all though I like the NBA rule better)
What is the NBA rule?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2006, 08:56pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref
What is the NBA rule?
Team control ends on a defensive bat. So even if the ball deflects off of an offensive player, it's not a violation to recover it in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2006, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green
Remember the nBA rule is different and lots of people think we should call it like the NBA--- (all though I like the NBA rule better)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2006, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Team control ends on a defensive bat. So even if the ball deflects off of an offensive player, it's not a violation to recover it in the backcourt.
That's what the coach from Utah told me in that game. I responded that that was the NBA rule and we were using HS rules in this game.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2006, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Team control ends on a defensive bat. So even if the ball deflects off of an offensive player, it's not a violation to recover it in the backcourt.

I just found it while looking at the NBA website. I do like that rule better. There is a difference between Team Possession (NCAA/NFHS Team Control) and Team Control, which ends when the defense deflects the ball or there is a shot attempt.

Thanks Scrapper
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That's what the coach from Utah told me in that game. I responded that that was the NBA rule and we were using HS rules in this game.
Haven't you heard? We're playing NBA rules in Utah now. It's something to do with how well the Jazz are doing this year.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 01:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Team control?

Starting to get confused here ... A1 trys for a basket rebound is tipped by A2 into the backcourt where it is recovered by A3 ... not a backcourt violation, corect?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Team control?

Starting to get confused here ... A1 trys for a basket rebound is tipped by A2 into the backcourt where it is recovered by A3 ... not a backcourt violation, corect?
Correct...Team A lost Team Control on the try.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 02:32am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Team control?

Starting to get confused here ... A1 trys for a basket rebound is tipped by A2 into the backcourt where it is recovered by A3 ... not a backcourt violation, corect?
Correct, no violation. Only allowed on a jump ball, throwin, rebound, or while playing defense.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 03:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Correct, no violation. Only allowed on a jump ball, throwin, rebound, or while playing defense.
The part in bold has nothing to do with this play. We are not talking about the exceptions article. Also, you have added one on your own that isn't in 9-9-3.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 09:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
So, in which one of my scenarios is the play (a tip by A1 into the backcourt where it's recoverd by A2) a BC violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt or not ATLBrvs326 Basketball 17 Sun Dec 17, 2006 06:51pm
Backcourt or not Backcourt?? easygoer Basketball 6 Fri Mar 05, 2004 04:06pm
Backcourt eyezen Basketball 8 Wed Mar 03, 2004 01:08am
AZ v. Ore backcourt from C Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Feb 23, 2004 06:30am
backcourt - again! rgaudreau Basketball 10 Fri Feb 22, 2002 04:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1