The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 01:47pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
I too think Peter's correct.

Fed 7-6-1 states:

...The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within five seconds after the throw-in starts. The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) before going out of bounds untouched...

Unless I misinterpret the words I underlined it is not a throw-in violation for the ball to touch a player out of bounds on the throw-in. So the throw-in ends legally and the player OOB violates by being OOB when he touches the ball (what we non-hair splitters call "causes the ball the be OOB").
FED 7-6-1 is exactly the same as FED 9-2-2. The listed penalty for 9-2-2 is a throw-in to the opponents from the original throw-in spot.

Didn't the player who caught the throw-in OOB also violate rule 9-2-10--"No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass"? The listed penalty for doing that also is a throw-in to the opponents at the original throw-in spot.

Unfortunately, the literal writing of R9-2PENALTY(Section 2) states that the throw-in spot following these particular violations is at the original throw-in spot. Peter Webb may be right in theory, but until he gets the book changed to reflect his theory, he is wrong imo.
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1