The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member

Coach's idiotic perception of officiating

On my way out of the gym last night after a varsity game, I ran into the coach of the freshman team. After a couple of quick comments, he says, "boy, I sure hate 3-person."

I said, "really, we officials love 3-person. We get better looks at calls and we get off-ball stuff that used to get missed."

Then he says, "yeah, but part of coaching is getting away with as much as you can."

I just said, "OK coach, gotta go." What a marooooooon!!!!!!
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member

WOW! thats funny.
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 02:20pm
Esteemed Participant

Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
WOW! thats funny.
But not surprising...unfortunately that's the attitude that is out there. As a football coach, I was chewing out one of my players on the sideline for a very illegal (and dangerous) chop block from behind (he happens to be my son) and one of the parents who was close by said "It's not a foul if the ref doesn't call it"...to which I responded, "Tell that to the kid who just had to be helped off the field". That attitude really makes me sick to my stomache.
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member

As a coach, I hate that attitude. Back when I started college, I told my dad once that I wanted to coach college basketball. He said that he didn't think I would, because winning wasn't the most important thing to me. That kind of attitude, do what you can get away with, is a horrible thing to be teaching young people. JMO, but I am 100% right on this.
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member