The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Who gets the T? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30120-who-gets-t.html)

A Pennsylvania Coach Tue Dec 12, 2006 01:49pm

Who gets the T?
 
After a timeout, V35 breaks the huddle and comes directly on the floor without having reported before or during the timeout. Before the ball is put back in play, the scorer summons the official and the official issues a technicial foul. Who is the foul on? "Team"? Coach indirect? Player? If so, does it count toward the five for disqualification?

blindzebra Tue Dec 12, 2006 01:52pm

Substitute, counts toward 2 T's to ejection, 5 fouls to disqualification and team fouls to bonus.

Lotto Tue Dec 12, 2006 02:07pm

NCAA rules: This is an indirect technical foul (10-3.9a) charged to V35. It does not count towards the five fouls for DQ, towards the 7/10 fouls for the bonus, or against the coach.

Adam Tue Dec 12, 2006 02:25pm

NFHS; It's an indirect on the head coach as well. Seat belt.

blindzebra Tue Dec 12, 2006 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
NFHS; It's an indirect on the head coach as well. Seat belt.

That is incorrect...check the penalty chart in the NFHS rule book page 73.;)

Adam Tue Dec 12, 2006 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
That is incorrect...check the penalty chart in the NFHS rule book page 73.;)

Looking at it right now.
Bench personnel/substitutes, enter court without permission; counts towards 1. 2 technicals, 5 personals, team foul count. Head coach assessed indirect T.

blindzebra Tue Dec 12, 2006 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Looking at it right now.
Bench personnel/substitutes, enter court without permission; counts towards 1. 2 technicals, 5 personals, team foul count. Head coach assessed indirect T.

We have a sub, not bench personnel, look under substitutes this falls under failing to report entering without being beckoned...no indirect.

Had this occurred during an intermission, then it falls under bench personnel 4-34-2.

Raymond Tue Dec 12, 2006 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
We have a sub, not bench personnel, look under substitutes this falls under failing to report entering without being beckoned...no indirect.

Had this occurred during an intermission, then it falls under bench personnel 4-34-2.

Just wondering, how could this happen during an intermission?

Adam Tue Dec 12, 2006 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
We have a sub, not bench personnel, look under substitutes this falls under failing to report entering without being beckoned...no indirect.

Had this occurred during an intermission, then it falls under bench personnel 4-34-2.

Disclosure. The only rule book I have here is 2005-2006. It says Subs and bench personnel in the same block, and includes entering without permission. Substitutes don't have their own block on page 73; they're considered bench personnel.

Was this another change this year that we weren't told about.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Dec 12, 2006 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Disclosure. The only rule book I have here is 2005-2006. It says Subs and bench personnel in the same block, and includes entering without permission. Substitutes don't have their own block on page 73; they're considered bench personnel.

Was this another change this year that we weren't told about.

Snaqs - I'm looking at 05-06 (and 04-05) right now, and it has separate rows for substitutes and for bench personnel. Subs are the 5th row of the table and bench personnel are the 7th row. Looks the same as the 06-07.

blindzebra Tue Dec 12, 2006 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Just wondering, how could this happen during an intermission?

If the team failed to send/report the sub(s) to the table to check in between periods.

tjchamp Tue Dec 12, 2006 03:35pm

So, when you don't KNOW who the "6th" player on floor is, who do you give the T to? Not sure about the rest of the country, but around here, the book does not keep track of who is in the game at every moment of time.

Mark Dexter Tue Dec 12, 2006 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjchamp
So, when you don't KNOW who the "6th" player on floor is, who do you give the T to? Not sure about the rest of the country, but around here, the book does not keep track of who is in the game at every moment of time.

The team (10-1-6).

Kinda like in football, when you call a penalty for 12 men on the field and the coach asks "Who was the 12th man??" Jeez, coach, I didn't call that last play. Or an illegal formation call for fewer than 7 men on the line of scrimmage and the coach asks "Who was off the line?" Once again - I have at least 5 suspects.

Mwanr1 Tue Dec 12, 2006 04:13pm

2006-2007 NFHS rule book, Page 73,

Substitutes: Entering court; no reportl not beckoned -

Counts toward: 1. 2 Technicals 2. 5 personal 3. Team-foul count

It states nothing for the Head Coach assessed column.

Therefore, the "T" should be charged to the substitute only!

Raymond Tue Dec 12, 2006 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
If the team failed to send/report the sub(s) to the table to check in between periods.

So in that case we charge an indirect to the head coach? (I don't have a rulebook with me right now)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1