![]() |
Who gets the T?
After a timeout, V35 breaks the huddle and comes directly on the floor without having reported before or during the timeout. Before the ball is put back in play, the scorer summons the official and the official issues a technicial foul. Who is the foul on? "Team"? Coach indirect? Player? If so, does it count toward the five for disqualification?
|
Substitute, counts toward 2 T's to ejection, 5 fouls to disqualification and team fouls to bonus.
|
NCAA rules: This is an indirect technical foul (10-3.9a) charged to V35. It does not count towards the five fouls for DQ, towards the 7/10 fouls for the bonus, or against the coach.
|
NFHS; It's an indirect on the head coach as well. Seat belt.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Bench personnel/substitutes, enter court without permission; counts towards 1. 2 technicals, 5 personals, team foul count. Head coach assessed indirect T. |
Quote:
Had this occurred during an intermission, then it falls under bench personnel 4-34-2. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Was this another change this year that we weren't told about. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
So, when you don't KNOW who the "6th" player on floor is, who do you give the T to? Not sure about the rest of the country, but around here, the book does not keep track of who is in the game at every moment of time.
|
Quote:
Kinda like in football, when you call a penalty for 12 men on the field and the coach asks "Who was the 12th man??" Jeez, coach, I didn't call that last play. Or an illegal formation call for fewer than 7 men on the line of scrimmage and the coach asks "Who was off the line?" Once again - I have at least 5 suspects. |
2006-2007 NFHS rule book, Page 73,
Substitutes: Entering court; no reportl not beckoned - Counts toward: 1. 2 Technicals 2. 5 personal 3. Team-foul count It states nothing for the Head Coach assessed column. Therefore, the "T" should be charged to the substitute only! |
Quote:
|
Speaking of the table on page 73. On "Dunk or grasp basket" the rules citing is incorrect. It should be 10-3-4. :)
|
Quote:
The fifth item in the "Administrative" is "team not ready to start half." |
And also speaking of the table on p. 73, how can a disqualified player ever be considered a substitute?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
4-34-4 is written to cover this screw-up: "If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live." |
Quote:
And besides, isn't that simply a direct technical fouls on the Head Coach when a DQ'd player is caught playing in the game - regardless of how long the player has been in? Or are you laying out a different type of scenario? |
It is now, but it used to be a flagrant T on the kid. I was merely attempting to give you a situation in which you had to consider a DQ'd person a substitute or a player. That's all. I'm not even sure that I succeeded with my example. :)
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13pm. |