The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Who gets the T? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30120-who-gets-t.html)

tjones1 Tue Dec 12, 2006 04:55pm

Speaking of the table on page 73. On "Dunk or grasp basket" the rules citing is incorrect. It should be 10-3-4. :)

tjones1 Tue Dec 12, 2006 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
So in that case we charge an indirect to the head coach? (I don't have a rulebook with me right now)

Nope, charged to the team and it counts toward the team-foul count.

The fifth item in the "Administrative" is "team not ready to start half."

HawkeyeCubP Tue Dec 12, 2006 04:57pm

And also speaking of the table on p. 73, how can a disqualified player ever be considered a substitute?

Adam Tue Dec 12, 2006 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Snaqs - I'm looking at 05-06 (and 04-05) right now, and it has separate rows for substitutes and for bench personnel. Subs are the 5th row of the table and bench personnel are the 7th row. Looks the same as the 06-07.

I see it now. That's what I get for multi-tasking.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 13, 2006 03:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
And also speaking of the table on p. 73, how can a disqualified player ever be considered a substitute?

Think of a DQ'd player sneaking back into the game and it not getting caught immediately. While he is playing, you would have to consider him a player, right?
4-34-4 is written to cover this screw-up:
"If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live."

HawkeyeCubP Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Think of a DQ'd player sneaking back into the game and it not getting caught immediately. While he is playing, you would have to consider him a player, right?
4-34-4 is written to cover this screw-up:
"If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live."

I gotcha, but that row in the table on p. 73 is addressing USC/acts on the bench, specifically. Entering after being DQ'd isn't listed in either of the two sections where USC/acts are laid out in 10-3-7 and 10-4-1.

And besides, isn't that simply a direct technical fouls on the Head Coach when a DQ'd player is caught playing in the game - regardless of how long the player has been in? Or are you laying out a different type of scenario?

Nevadaref Thu Dec 14, 2006 04:32am

It is now, but it used to be a flagrant T on the kid. I was merely attempting to give you a situation in which you had to consider a DQ'd person a substitute or a player. That's all. I'm not even sure that I succeeded with my example. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1