The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Thats not a foul?!? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30029-thats-not-foul.html)

TimTaylor Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:06pm

Larks,

IMHO you got it right. If the HM coach's remarks were directed more towards the floor vs. you or your partner, and weren't too off the wall, I might let it go....once. If he repeats it, then in the words of our commissioner, "we've got new arrangements".

HawkeyeCubP Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larks

I thanked him for reminding me that we weren't playing "sissy ball" then promptly puked on his shoes.....

Oh, that's good stuff.:D

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larks
Shouldn't there be some sort of test that these guys have to pass to even be allowed to sit on the bench, let alone coach?

Seconded!:)

eg-italy Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy
Uh, yeah. If it's not incidental, it must be illegal. Your comment basically says two players can go after the ball unless one of them fouls, with which I agree.

The ball being loose does not suddenly turn all contact into incidental contact.

Of course not. But the rules (at least ours) cover specifically this situation and say that you don't look at the severity of the contact, provided the players had the opportunity to get at the ball without causing illegal contact: if B2 had free space towards the ball, then the ensuing contact is incidental. So, just saying that A2 falls is not sufficient.

It's not a question of "sissy ball", I agree. But it's not an automatic foul either. If A2 was between B2 and the ball, then I'm inclined to call a foul on B2, but have to see the play to judge.

Adam Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy
Of course not. But the rules (at least ours) cover specifically this situation and say that you don't look at the severity of the contact, provided the players had the opportunity to get at the ball without causing illegal contact: if B2 had free space towards the ball, then the ensuing contact is incidental. So, just saying that A2 falls is not sufficient.

It's not a question of "sissy ball", I agree. But it's not an automatic foul either. If A2 was between B2 and the ball, then I'm inclined to call a foul on B2, but have to see the play to judge.

Yes, but....
In the original post, he specifically stated that B2 went through A2 to get to the ball, taking A2 out at the knees. I'm not picturing any play that could be described this way in which it is not a foul on B2.

Back In The Saddle Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy
Of course not. But the rules (at least ours) cover specifically this situation and say that you don't look at the severity of the contact, provided the players had the opportunity to get at the ball without causing illegal contact: if B2 had free space towards the ball, then the ensuing contact is incidental. So, just saying that A2 falls is not sufficient.

It's not a question of "sissy ball", I agree. But it's not an automatic foul either. If A2 was between B2 and the ball, then I'm inclined to call a foul on B2, but have to see the play to judge.

I don't know if FIBA espouses this philosophy or not, perhaps they do in different words. In HS rules when two (or more) players are going for a loose ball, long pass, etc., you have to look at how advantageous each of those player's positions is. For example, if you have two opposing players coming from opposite directions to secure a loose ball and they collide, you may well have nothing as neither player was in a more advantageous position. In the OP, A2 is between B2 and the ball, and thus has a significantly more advantageous position. If B2 causes illegal contact that negates that advantage, that's a foul.

Larks Fri Dec 08, 2006 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Yes, but....
In the original post, he specifically stated that B2 went through A2 to get to the ball, taking A2 out at the knees. I'm not picturing any play that could be described this way in which it is not a foul on B2.


That is exactly what happened....

PYRef Fri Dec 08, 2006 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy
The ball being loose does not suddenly turn all contact into incidental contact.

True, and don't forget that all contact in loose ball situations is not necessarily considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe.
4.27.2

Nevadaref Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Okay, let's see. Prone on the floor with arms outstretched horizontally to get the ball is not LGP, so she's not maintaining position, contact was initiated by B2, A2 falls, and B2 gets an illegal advantage.

Yup, that sounds like a foul

While I agree with you that a foul was committed in the situation described, I have to point out that this play has nothing to do with LGP and that even a player lying on the floor has a right to that space per that case play which I can never find when I need it. :)

This play is solely about one player causing illegal contact with another player.

Time2Ref Sat Dec 09, 2006 03:37am

According to NFHS, I think that's a 15 yard penalty.......No wait, that's football.

:confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1