![]() |
|
|
|||
Wait, am i reading this correctly?
A1 dribbling around can guarded by B1, B2, and B3 each individually so long as one of them is always within six feet and the closely guarded count continues and does not restart with each change of defender??? Is the rule the same in NCAA and NCAA-W? |
|
|||
Quote:
In NCAA it must be the same defender -- when there's a switch, the count starts over. |
|
|||
I know I'll probably be beheaded for saying this, but you'd better check around in your area before you call this. I know what the strict letter of the law says, and I'm not saying that JR is incorrect in his interp. But I also know that some rules are called with local variations that directly contradict the book, and whether or not I or anyone else approve of this, that's the way it's done. I'd check with a local interpreter before i called this in any game.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Nov 21, 2006 at 07:09pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Okay, well I had to do that since Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy has yet to be replaced. No, not at all. Howard is a by the book kinda guy -- except for 3 seconds. But my point is exactly that in areas where there is a strong tradition of how to interpret things, it's best to go by that tradition, just like we use Howard's 3 second rule here, rather than the legality of the book. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
Sorry.....I couldn't resist ![]() Great to see you last night...it's been awhile! Now that test night (and we all hopefully passed) is over the courts are safe once again! |
|
|||
I'm not calling 5 seconds unless there is a defender actively guarding the player with the ball. Just because another player is standing within 6 feet, it does not mean that the 2nd defender is actually guarding or even knows what's going on.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
I'm with BBR. If the player is effectivly "passed off" to a focused-on-that-player defender, keep counting. Just because a post player is within 6 feet and chasing somebody else - I cannot see a penalty.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun "Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy |
|
|||
Quote:
In NCAA-W there is no closely guarded count while A1 is dribbling, only while she is holding the ball. The count happens anywhere on the court, not just in the frontcourt. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Infield Line Drive Not Caught | nickrego | Baseball | 21 | Sun Jul 30, 2006 09:17pm |
Intentionally Dropped Line Drive? | dweezil24 | Softball | 6 | Thu Jun 29, 2006 06:22pm |
LBR when F1 catches line drive? | IamMatt | Softball | 11 | Mon Jun 12, 2006 01:53pm |
Start of drive markers | racekarl | Football | 12 | Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:31pm |
membership drive | johnfox | General / Off-Topic | 0 | Sun Dec 17, 2000 10:21pm |