![]() |
|
|||
Held ball/Alt poss.
Team A has the arrow after a held ball. A1 reaches through the endline as if to pass or fake Defender B1 guarding endline. The ball is tied up between A1and B1 while the ball was across the endline (in bounds). I was told that team A doesn't lose poss. since the throw-in never took place, and would get the ball again for a spot throw-in. And since it took place in bounds no violation. However if he had fouled A1 while in bounds would it have only been a normal personal foul? I understand the various T's for out of bounds contact.
|
|
|||
This situation is described in the case book (6.4.5 situation B). The ruling is "Since the throw -in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A's ball for an alternating-possession throw in. (4-42-5).
Rule 4-42-5 "The throw-in ends when the PASSED ball touches, or is touched by, another player who is either inbounds or out of bounds." What you were told is correct ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Jump Ball Poss. Arrow / Traveling | GFS-1 | Basketball | 1 | Mon Feb 13, 2006 06:31pm |
Held ball | faitheagle | Basketball | 4 | Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:54am |
held ball | roadking | Basketball | 5 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 05:28am |
held ball | just another ref | Basketball | 14 | Mon Nov 03, 2003 09:19am |
Held Ball | DrC. | Basketball | 6 | Sat Mar 04, 2000 03:08pm |