The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
BTW, this game was played under ncaa rules. The ncaa book contains this under 4.33.4a:

Quote:

A.R. 91. B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position.
Also says this action is a direct T:

Quote:
10.7.5. Climbing on or lifting a teammate to secure greater height.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 03:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Also says this action is a direct T:
How is that applicable to this situation? A2 jumped off an opponent, not a teammate.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
How is that applicable to this situation? A2 jumped off an opponent, not a teammate.
Well, it's applicable because A2 didn't jump off a team mate.

btw...might have been nice to calmly come out of that mess with a whistle for a travel, but if he travelled I missed it coach.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 04:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref

btw...might have been nice to calmly come out of that mess with a whistle for a travel, but if he travelled I missed it coach.
How can you call a travel if A2 didn't put his pivot foot back on the floor after he lifted it?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 04:24pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
A.R. 91. B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position.
I had a feeling that you were thinking about this. But I think this only applies to block/charge plays. And no matter what you called (or didn't call) in your original situation, it doesn't sound to me like a block/charge play.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I had a feeling that you were thinking about this. But I think this only applies to block/charge plays. And no matter what you called (or didn't call) in your original situation, it doesn't sound to me like a block/charge play.
No, it's not a block/charge.

But the AR is clear - B1 has taken an illegal position.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 05:48pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
No, it's not a block/charge.

But the AR is clear - B1 has taken an illegal position.
But the offensive player clearly intentionally stepped on an opponent. I don't think I'm allowing that to happen. So I don't think the question of whether B1 had legal guarding position is relevant.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But the offensive player clearly intentionally stepped on an opponent. I don't think I'm allowing that to happen. So I don't think the question of whether B1 had legal guarding position is relevant.
From the description, the player made a move to the basket stepping into their normal lay-up pattern, the only difference is in order to get to the basket, they had to pass through this player in an illegal guarding position.

Had this occurred outside the 3 point line and A2 turned around to go make sure they step on the player, yes I agree with you we've got an IF or FF. But on the way to the basket for a layup, I think the rules pretty clearly state we've got a block here.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But the offensive player clearly intentionally stepped on an opponent. I don't think I'm allowing that to happen.
Why not?

It would have been a block according to the AR if he fell down.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 08:10pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Why not?

It would have been a block according to the AR if he fell down.
Why not?

If A2 falls down, he's been put at a disadvantage. If A2 jumps off of the defender though, he's gaining an advantage.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
I've been gone all day, so I haven't checked in till now.

JR -- I said T because of A2 using something to illegally get taller. Then I called it flagrant because it was an opponent. I thought about live-ball contact, but the contact wasn't the basis for the technical. I'd be fine with a flagrant personal, though. Either way, the kid sits...

Dan -- I don't do NCAA, so I don't need to fully understand your citations, but I'm curious. I don't think that the illegal position of B1 is at issue. If A2 tripped, I'd see this as a block by the NCAA rules. But if A2 deliberately reaches his foot out and steps on B1, I don't see how you could penalize for a block. It's gotta be a foul on A2, even if it's not PC or charge. It's just flagrant, isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Why not?

If A2 falls down, he's been put at a disadvantage. If A2 jumps off of the defender though, he's gaining an advantage.
Maybe, maybe not.

I notice you didn't say A2 gained an illegal advantage.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another first-Bruce Lee Layup Drill devdog69 Basketball 28 Tue Jul 19, 2005 01:26pm
Intentional Foul on Layup mbloise Basketball 2 Wed Dec 22, 2004 06:43pm
Players yelling during layup joshlamerritt Basketball 15 Fri Nov 22, 2002 03:21pm
Fan Interference with Breakway Layup jshock Basketball 49 Sun Dec 02, 2001 11:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1