The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Layup (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29551-layup.html)

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:23am

Layup
 
Scrappy (read ugly) game. Lots of fouls. Not too much talent. Near end A1 misses a layup. Tip tip rebound ball goes up misses tip tip B1 hits the floor tip ball goes up misses tip tip rebound secured by A2. A2 is standing under the basket so he takes a step to his right but can't because B1 is lying there on his side with his arms covering his head. A2 looks down, places his right foot on B1's hip and from there puts in the lay up. You are at C and clearly saw the entire sequence.

What do you do?

Scrapper1 Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Scrappy (read ugly) game.

I think I resemble that remark. . .

I think I might have an intentional personal foul for stepping on the kid on the floor.

rainmaker Sun Nov 19, 2006 11:14am

If it had been his teammate, it would be a technical foul for not being a basketball play. Because it's an opponent, I'd call it flagrant technical and toss him. And then come home and write a "what is this world coming to?" post on the forum.

So, what did you do, Dan?

Ref Daddy Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:15pm

Right - On! Unsporting Violation? Spirit of the rules? Unfair advantage? Intentional foul?

Many ways to get that player a seat.

Scrapper1 Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Daddy
Right - On! Unsporting Violation? Spirit of the rules? Unfair advantage? Intentional foul?

Unsporting violation? I've heard of unsporting fouls, but unsporting foul = non-contact. Doesn't seem to apply here. (I think you knew that, though, and were just speaking off-the-cuff. But I thought I'd make it explicit.)

just another ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Scrappy (read ugly) game. Lots of fouls. Not too much talent. Near end A1 misses a layup. Tip tip rebound ball goes up misses tip tip B1 hits the floor tip ball goes up misses tip tip rebound secured by A2. A2 is standing under the basket so he takes a step to his right but can't because B1 is lying there on his side with his arms covering his head. A2 looks down, places his right foot on B1's hip and from there puts in the lay up. You are at C and clearly saw the entire sequence.

What do you do?

Dan, I don't know how you could have described this play any better, but it still seems like one you would have to see to appreciate. If you feel this was intentional, (sounds like that's what you think and it doesn't sound like it could have happened if not intentional) I would say flagrant personal foul, no basket, you can go home now.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
If it had been his teammate, it would be a technical foul for not being a basketball play. Because it's an opponent, I'd call it flagrant technical and toss him.

A <b>technical</b> foul for live-ball illegal <b>contact</b>?:confused:

You know better than that, Juulie. Gotta be a personal foul of some kind- PC, intentional or flagrant. That determination is up to the calling official.

Adam Sun Nov 19, 2006 03:15pm

I think an intentional foul covers it well here.

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 03:19pm

BTW, this game was played under ncaa rules. The ncaa book contains this under 4.33.4a:

Quote:


A.R. 91. B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position.
Also says this action is a direct T:

Quote:

10.7.5. Climbing on or lifting a teammate to secure greater height.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Scrappy (read ugly) game. Lots of fouls. Not too much talent. Near end A1 misses a layup. Tip tip rebound ball goes up misses tip tip B1 hits the floor tip ball goes up misses tip tip rebound secured by A2. A2 is standing under the basket so<font color = red> he takes a step to his right</font> but can't because B1 is lying there on his side with his arms covering his head. A2 looks down, <font color = red>places his right foot on B1's hip and from there puts in the lay up</font>. You are at C and clearly saw the entire sequence.

What do you do?

My turn....:D
If A2's pivot foot was his right foot, and he then lifted that pivot foot to take the step, and subsequently put his pivot foot down on B1 to jump off him, is that traveling?:D

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Also says this action is a direct T:

How is that applicable to this situation? A2 jumped off an opponent, not a teammate.

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
How is that applicable to this situation? A2 jumped off an opponent, not a teammate.

Well, it's applicable because A2 didn't jump off a team mate.

btw...might have been nice to calmly come out of that mess with a whistle for a travel, but if he travelled I missed it coach.

Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 19, 2006 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref

btw...might have been nice to calmly come out of that mess with a whistle for a travel, but if he travelled I missed it coach.

How can you call a travel if A2 didn't put his pivot foot back on the <b>floor</b> after he lifted it?:D

Scrapper1 Sun Nov 19, 2006 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
A.R. 91. B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who has taken an illegal defensive position.

I had a feeling that you were thinking about this. But I think this only applies to block/charge plays. And no matter what you called (or didn't call) in your original situation, it doesn't sound to me like a block/charge play.

Dan_ref Sun Nov 19, 2006 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I had a feeling that you were thinking about this. But I think this only applies to block/charge plays. And no matter what you called (or didn't call) in your original situation, it doesn't sound to me like a block/charge play.

No, it's not a block/charge.

But the AR is clear - B1 has taken an illegal position.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1