![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
2) Good point. I didn't read the original situation close enough.The team used their supposed sixth TO before the penalties for that TO were administered. The book would now show 6 charged TO's. After correction of the bookkeeping error, it should show 5 actual TO's taken. Iow, they don't get to use another one. 3) See #2. |
|
|||
|
If we can rescind the technical, why could we not rescind the free throws shot because of the technical? The technical was not a bookkeeping error, it was caused by a bookkeeping error.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Can you cite anything that says different? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It seems to me that when you correct the bookkeeping mistake, specifically you correct the number of time-outs charged to Team A, you merely make the technical foul unwarranted, you don't necessarily make the FTs that resulted from that technical foul unmerited. Unless you can point to a specific rule that allows you to rescind the charged technical foul, then the 2FTs that were awarded because of it remain merited. So JR what is the specific rules book language that states that you can rescind this technical foul? That is what I am seeking. Doing that would make the 2FTs unmerited and create a correctable error situation. It seems to me that unless you are able to do that there is no correctable error. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 2FREAKING-11FREAKING-FREAKING11 The technical foul is a bookkkeping error that was made as a result of the extra TO bookkeeping error.You have something in the rule book that you can use to straighten out the play. Use it. You don't have any rules language afaik that will allow you to do anything else. And after you do straighten that part of the screw-up out, unfortunately you also do have language governing the unmerited FT's. You have to use that language too. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Nov 15, 2006 at 04:49pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I fail to see how you can refer to the technical itself as a bookkeeping error. The ref called it, the scorer wrote it down.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Tracking how many time-outs a team has taken during a game is clearly a bookkeeping matter. Rule 10-1-7 tells us that requesting an excess time-out is a team technical foul. The penalty for any article in section 1 is specified as 2FTs plus the ball for a div line throw-in. When it was discovered that the time-out WAS excessive, the proper penalty was assessed. However, logically when it was later discovered that the time-out was in fact NOT an excess time-out the penalty must go away. So the BOOKKEEPING requires for either there to be a penalty or to not be a penalty. So if the bookkeeping was in error then the penalty was also in error. Therefore, the penalty is part of the bookkeeping mistake. For the counter to this argument see my post numbered 38 in this thread. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| correctable error | CLAY | Basketball | 16 | Thu Dec 08, 2005 09:15am |
| Correctable Error | hbioteach | Basketball | 2 | Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:03am |
| Correctable error | som44 | Basketball | 9 | Mon Jan 26, 2004 02:51pm |
| correctable error? | cardinalfan | Basketball | 9 | Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm |
| Correctable error... | w_sohl | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 30, 2003 04:31pm |