The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
People, why are you arguing about this? It is right there in the Case Book.


2.10.1 SITUATION B: A1 has been awarded two free throws. Erroneously, the ball is allowed to remain in play after A1 misses on the first attempt. A2 rebounds the miss and tosses the ball through the basket. B1 secures the ball and inbounds it. Play continues until a foul is called on A2 as B is passing the ball in B's frontcourt. RULING: The goal by A2 counts, but the error of not awarding A1 a second free throw is no longer correctable. Since the ball remained in play on the missed free throw, the clock started and the ball became dead when the goal was scored. When the ball became live on the subsequent throw-in, the time period for correction had expired.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
2.10.1 SITUATION B does fit this scenerio, but for the people who aren't agreeing that I was wrong and should have went the correctable error way, it is too much action after the error.

The calling official, in this case the R, announced 1 and 1, administered the first throw, which was missed, B1 rebounded. The ball is live when A1 has it for the free throw, 6-6. I could have blown it dead then and kept the players on the line for 2 shots, but I didn't. Again, once B1 secured the rebound, this is now ONLY correcable error territory.

I would recommend explaining the rules to coaches, even if they don't know the rules or believe you, at least you aren't making up rules. We aren't there to give team A a chance for the rebound after the second shot, we are there to be sure the game is played by the rules set down by the FED
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukealex
2.10.1 SITUATION B does fit this scenerio, but for the people who aren't agreeing that I was wrong and should have went the correctable error way, it is too much action after the error.
The Case Book ruling proves that the ball becomes live and does NOT remain dead, as many posters in this thread have contended, even though 2 FTs should have been awarded. JR has been correct all the way.

I really miss Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 09:50pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
trying another angle.....

After the first free throw, B1 jumped up and secured the rebound. If play had been allowed to continue, we would have been looking at a correctable error situation, whether the official had given erroneous information or not. Therefore, as I see it, the bad information given by the ref is not even important. Play was not allowed to continue. B1 grabbed the rebound, and the play was immediately whistled dead. This happens all the time. Nobody was put at a disadvantage.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 10:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
After the first free throw, B1 jumped up and secured the rebound. If play had been allowed to continue, we would have been looking at a correctable error situation, whether the official had given erroneous information or not. Therefore, as I see it, the bad information given by the ref is not even important. Play was not allowed to continue. B1 grabbed the rebound, and the play was immediately whistled dead. This happens all the time. Nobody was put at a disadvantage.

For exactly how long? Do you believe that there is some kind of timeframe here? Did you even bother to read the Case Book play that I just posted? What you are advocating is clearly contrary to that.

What do you call B1 rebounding the ball? Isn't that play?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 10:13pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Originally Posted by just another ref
After the first free throw, B1 jumped up and secured the rebound. If play had been allowed to continue, we would have been looking at a correctable error situation, whether the official had given erroneous information or not. Therefore, as I see it, the bad information given by the ref is not even important. Play was not allowed to continue. B1 grabbed the rebound, and the play was immediately whistled dead. This happens all the time. Nobody was put at a disadvantage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
For exactly how long? Do you believe that there is some kind of timeframe here? Did you even bother to read the Case Book play that I just posted? What you are advocating is clearly contrary to that.

What do you call B1 rebounding the ball? Isn't that play?

Players jump up and rebound the ball after the first free throw all the time. You step in, blow the whistle, say "one more," and they all go "oh, my bad."
According to what you're saying, B1 should jump up and rebound that first missed free throw again next time, because then you'll give him the ball at the end no matter what happens next.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
Yes, but they say my bad when the ref actually said 2 throws

And what is wrong with my grammar
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 11, 2006, 07:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Players jump up and rebound the ball after the first free throw all the time. You step in, blow the whistle, say "one more," and they all go "oh, my bad."
According to what you're saying, B1 should jump up and rebound that first missed free throw again next time, because then you'll give him the ball at the end no matter what happens next.
Sure, individual players do this, even when they've been told "two shots." However, the ref with the responsibility for administering the shots said "one shot" (or "one and one.") He told all the players on the lane that it was a live ball on the miss, and they all played accordingly. The ref made an error, and B got the rebound. By rule, you shouldn't take this rebound away from them.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error Time2Ref Basketball 9 Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:06am
Correctable error or not? 181174 Basketball 5 Fri Jan 13, 2006 09:56am
Correctable error mplagrow Basketball 9 Sun Jan 08, 2006 08:52am
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
correctable error? zac Basketball 7 Thu Oct 10, 2002 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1