The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: Re: Okay, let's see if I got this right!

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
No wonder no one else would try to figure this out!

A coach gets one indirect technical foul if one or ten bench personnel leave the bench.

If three of those ten enter the court and fight, the head coach gets a total ofthree indirect technical fouls, and he would be ejected.
Not quite -- the coach gets one indirect for each of the three that fought, plus one more for all the others who left but didn't fight.
Understood, just not addressed because he was ejected for the 3 indirect T's.

Quote:
It makes no difference in this particular case -- the coach is gone anyway, but it might make a difference if the numbers were a little different.

Jim Dixon (I think) wrote an interesting summary on these rules a few years ago. I'll try to find it and post it, but a summary is:
Yep, you sent it to me but I couldn't put my hands on it during this discussion. I reviewed it during the season last year and plan to again this year. I still have it, just have to locate it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
One more question



1) Players Come off and do NOT fight -- doesn't matter how many, just one indirect. If numbers for both teams are same, they offset. IF numbers aren't the same, shoot two throws.


Bob, does this mean that if 3 players come off A's bench, and 2 players come off B's bench, but NOBODY from either bench participates, then B will shoot 2 free throws?

I think that's right, b/c even though only 1 indirect T is assessed to each coach for bench personnel, each of the substitutes from the bench gets a direct T. So 3 direct T's on A (plus one indirect on the coach), and only 2 direct T's on B (plus one indirect on the coach). Therefore, 2 free throws for B.

Is the above scenario changed if Team B has more players that actually participate in the fight? Say all the above remains true AND B1 and B2 punch A1 who also punches B1.

Now it seems that all the direct T's even out. Would we still shoot anything?


3) Coaches leave bench (without being beckoned) -- Flagrant direct on coach -- whether s/he fights or not. IF both coaches leave bench, they offset. If not, shoot two throws.


I was once told that if a coach comes off the bench to break up a fight, there is a 100% chance that he was beckoned, whether anybody saw it or not. Does anybody think that's valid? As long as the coach is breaking things up, you're not going to penalize him/her?

I guess that was more than one more question.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 10:06am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Re: One more question

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias


I was once told that if a coach comes off the bench to break up a fight, there is a 100% chance that he was beckoned, whether anybody saw it or not. Does anybody think that's valid? As long as the coach is breaking things up, you're not going to penalize him/her?

I guess that was more than one more question.

Chuck
Chuck,
I saw you beckon that coach.
That is well within the spirit and intent of the book.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Re: One more question

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Chuck,
I saw you beckon that coach.
That is well within the spirit and intent of the book.
mick [/B]
Thanks mick. I thought so. Just checking how other people see it.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Re: One more question

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias


1) Players Come off and do NOT fight -- doesn't matter how many, just one indirect. If numbers for both teams are same, they offset. IF numbers aren't the same, shoot two throws.


Bob, does this mean that if 3 players come off A's bench, and 2 players come off B's bench, but NOBODY from either bench participates, then B will shoot 2 free throws?

I think that's right, b/c even though only 1 indirect T is assessed to each coach for bench personnel, each of the substitutes from the bench gets a direct T. So 3 direct T's on A (plus one indirect on the coach), and only 2 direct T's on B (plus one indirect on the coach). Therefore, 2 free throws for B.


Right - and it doesn't matter how big the discrepancy is. If 10 from A left and 1 from B left, but noe participated, you'd still have 1 indirect on each coach and B would shoot the throws for one technical (two throws). A would have a lot more team fouls, though.

Quote:
Is the above scenario changed if Team B has more players that actually participate in the fight? Say all the above remains true AND B1 and B2 punch A1 who also punches B1.

Now it seems that all the direct T's even out. Would we still shoot anything?


Let me make sure I've got the scenario straight: A1, A2, A3, B1 and B2 come off the bench. A1, B1 and B2 particpate.

First, determine the fouls by category:

1) A has two off the bench; B has zero off the bench -- B will shoot 2.

2) A has one participate; B has 2 participate -- A will shoot two.

3) N/A

Now, add up the totals and offset. Here, they offset exactly, so no free throws are shot.

Quote:
3) Coaches leave bench (without being beckoned) -- Flagrant direct on coach -- whether s/he fights or not. IF both coaches leave bench, they offset. If not, shoot two throws.


I was once told that if a coach comes off the bench to break up a fight, there is a 100% chance that he was beckoned, whether anybody saw it or not. Does anybody think that's valid? As long as the coach is breaking things up, you're not going to penalize him/her?
I agree.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Re: One more question

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Let me make sure I've got the scenario straight: A1, A2, A3, B1 and B2 come off the bench. A1, B1 and B2 particpate.
Actually, Bob, in my mind, I was thinking that the players off the benches did not participate in the fight, but that 3 "players" (actually in the game) were fighting. I don't think it matters, tho, it should work out the same, right?

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
I don't think it matters, tho, it should work out the same, right?
Well, except you'd bang the coach if the players came off the bench--whether they participated or not--whereas you wouldn't if it were players on the court.
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: One more question

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias

I was once told that if a coach comes off the bench to break up a fight, there is a 100% chance that he was beckoned, whether anybody saw it or not. Does anybody think that's valid? As long as the coach is breaking things up, you're not going to penalize him/her?

I guess that was more than one more question.
Hey, that was two questions!

Yes, I think that's valid. In fact, I was going to post the same thing. As long as the coach is helpful when he enters the floor, we consider him to be beckoned. If he starts more ****, then he's got to go.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1