The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 12:18am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
On the subject of screw ups

Many years ago, when I was young and ignorant, (now I am no longer young)
I called a lot of local elementary and jr. high ball before I had ever seen a rule book. One day, 8th grade boys, I called a foul on white #50, but incorrectly reported the # as 40. Next possession, same kid fouls again. Now the (wrong) # is fresh in my mind, so I report white 40 again, probably did not even attempt to look at the # that time. A few minutes later, I looked at the kid as he ran down the court, and the 50 smacked me full in the face. I blew the whistle, huddled with partner and both coaches, and explained my mistake. My partner, a registered official, even though he was several years younger than I, explained that this was not a correctable error since we had had several dead balls since then. This was fine with white's coach, since 50 was a much better player than 40. Years later when I had a chance to study this rule, I decided that I considered this to be a bookkeeping mistake, 2 fouls charged to the wrong player, even though this mistake was the result of bad information given by an official, not a mistake by the bookkeeper himself. Is this/has this ever been addressed here or in the books? I may have even posted it here myself, but I've slept since then, and well, you know........
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 03:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,715
We've discussed it on this forum before. Most of us believe that it is a recordkeeping mistake and can be fixed with definite knowledge.

Someone will probably do a search and post one of the past threads for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Yes this is correctable at any time during the game. Don't know where it is in the book but trust me I know, when I first started I did it alot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 02:40pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
NFHS rule 2-11-11
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help on this screw up Chess Ref Basketball 25 Tue Oct 24, 2006 04:20pm
Screw-ups lawump Baseball 7 Tue Jun 06, 2006 03:15pm
Touchy subject ChampaignBlue Softball 13 Fri Aug 27, 2004 11:44am
On the subject of blowouts hawkk Basketball 1 Thu Feb 13, 2003 01:56pm
Subject: Possession; or, not..... Rog Baseball 5 Sat Jun 15, 2002 07:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1