![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
4-15-4 NOTE 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. As I said earlier, the direction of the bat is not relevant.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
If "NOTE 2" makes a distinction, why ignore it? |
|
|||
Quote:
When you played "Keep Away" as a kid, did you always throw the ball in a direction that was opposite from the kid who was it? No, you throw it any direction as long as that kid doesn't get the ball. Same thing here. Direction is irrelevant. The point of the note is that the player is batting the ball to keep it away from other players. You're trying too hard on this one, Jim.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Had this happen in a game a couple days ago.
After a shot, ball gets tipped around, no team control. Ball is about to go out of bounds but is saved by A1 who "scoops" the ball to save it just like a bowling ball would be thrown. The ball doesn't touch anybody until A2 retrieves the ball in the backcourt. Would the scoop be considered control? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks |
|
|||
![]()
I always thought that when there was no team control, team control was then established when a player establishes player control, which is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Tapping is not holding, scooping (IMO) is holding, pushing a ball downward to the court to start a dribble is dribbling.
This "test" has always worked for me. Comments?
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Clearly, this is not the case. All I'm saying is that a player can tap a ball with or without control and an experienced official can tell the difference, and should be able to use his/her own judgment to make the call. |
|
|||
Jim,
If a player bats the ball toward one of his teammates then isn't he batting it AWAY from opponents (other players)? Also, a player can certainly bat a ball toward an empty area on the floor to keep it away from opponents (other players) and then go get it. Would you judge that to be a case of player control? However, here is something that helps your case: RULE 4, SECTION 31 PASS A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player. A pass is something done by a player in control right? ![]() Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Oct 21, 2006 at 03:25am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! Last edited by ChuckElias; Fri Oct 20, 2006 at 06:24pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
You're either holding the ball or you're not holding it. If you're not holding it, there is no player control. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rebound action | tomegun | Basketball | 8 | Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:49pm |
Shooter gets own rebound | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 08:14pm |
OOB Rebound | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 10 | Sun Apr 04, 2004 09:08am |
Shot Rebound, Foul Lane Block | bwbuddy | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 05, 2004 10:52am |
Can a player rebound a missed shot | Ron Grzywacz | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jun 27, 2000 01:44pm |