![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Apples and oranges!!!!
Gentlemen,
When the ball strikes the division line or the player strikes the division line that ball and / or player now has backcourt position based on the rules.:D I never said anything about a ball that has backcourt position and being touched by a player in front court as being legal. I said a ball that has front court position, being touched or caught by a player with frontcourt position is a legal play in any rule book! |
Quote:
Jimgolf mentioned the FIBA rule, where it becomes a violation the instant the ball gains back court status. Think of the Fed. rule almost like a "delayed" violation. If the defense touches it first, play on. If the offense touches it, violation. |
Quote:
2) And you're still completely wrong because you don't have any comprehension of how the rule works. The ball having front court position is also completely irrelevant after the ball enters the back court. It doesn't matter at all <b>where</b> the ball is subsequently touched. All that matters, by rule, is <b>who</b> is the first to touch the ball after it went into the back court. That's a pretty basic rule there that you're completely screwing up, cat. It might be a good idea on your part to find a rule interpreter somewhere and run it by them. You obviously don't believe any of us. |
Quote:
I'm standing in the FC, holding the ball. I bounce pass to you, the ball hits the division line, hits the floor in the FC, you catch the ball while completely standing in the FC. Is this a BC violation? Yes, it is. Look at the rule. There's no requirement that the ball be touched while in the backcourt. A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. #1 - You as A2 are the first to touch the ball #2 - Our team has team control #3 - I was standing in the FC when I passed it to you, so FC status has been attained. #4 - I was the last player to touch it "before it went to the backcourt." I can't make it any simplier than that. If you aren't willing to listen to others' ideas, you're wasting your time posting here, especially when everyone else here is telling you the same thing: that you're wrong. |
Quote:
The only legal way for a ball to go from A1 (in the froncourt) to A2 and touch the backcourt on the way (or A2 in the backcourt) is for a player from team B to contact the ball between the touches by A1 and A2. |
Quote:
A1 is standing in the frontcourt in the FT semi-circle. He has the ball. He turns around and throws the ball so that it strikes his opponents backboard in the backcourt and rebounds back towards him. The ball bounces on the floor in the frontcourt at the top of the key and A1 then catches it, having never moved from his original position. No other player touched the ball at anytime during this sequence. Is this a BC violation KYcat? ;) |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All, I will not even attempt to speak for kycat. I can say from experience coming to this board kycat my feel like he is being sh!tted on. How do I know, I had the same approach once I started coming here. I wanted to show that I knew the rules. I may had known the rules, however, I did not know the spirit of the rules. Since, I have been coming to the forum I have grown tremendously as an official. However, the one thing I have learned is showing patience with those individuals who may have a hard time understanding the spirit of the rules. The least we can do is reply; post the appropriate rule and move on from there. I get frustrated we I see replies of an officials telling another official (maybe!) THEY DO NOT NEED TO BE AN OFFICIAL!! Due to the fact, they may not understand thing initially.
We are all brothers and sisters in arms. The forum is like a cyber official association. Let's not run new people away. We want them to come and learn and become better officials. This is coming from an individual who has been told by some on this very forum to apply for a job at Champ's Sports because I would not make it as an official. I still here!!! Be Patience with our new members. Warmly |
Quote:
This particular play isn't a case of a grey area in the rules that could be argued different ways. It's a case of having a definitive rule to apply. None of us want to be assigned to a game after an official screws up a call completely because he didn't know a basic rule and he refused also to try and learn that basic rule. Jmo too. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
It is kinda frustrating, Rook, when several people take the time to write out a rule and fully explain it, and someone just refuses to believe everybody. When it's you against the world in officiating, bet on the world. |
Quote:
This is why I made the following statement in my initial post: The least we can do is reply; post the appropriate rule and move on from there.:D |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40pm. |