The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Post Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/28475-post-play.html)

icallfouls Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Does that mean that it's OK for a defender to use a forearm on a post player without the ball? Or any player, for that matter? :confused:

From an old but still valid NFHS POE on ROUGH PLAY:- "Use of a forearm, regardless of the duration of the contact, is a FOUL".

JR,
Please direct me to the reference you are applying in this situation. As for me, a forearm in and of itself does not constitute a foul and to say that it is, seems a little officious. My interpretation of the OP is that they meant every time an arm bar is used is this a foul? It is not unless it impedes, reroutes, or displaces. A forearm can be used to absorb contact as long as it isn't extended.

If I am defending in the post, playing behind and to the side of the offense, I extend an arm to deter the entry pass and I have my off arm in front of my chest and more than likely it is in contact with the offense. If the offense ins't actively working to get the ball, I am not going to call this.

If memory serves the intent of the NFHS was to stop the pushing that players do with the arm bar, is this what you are referring to?

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 26, 2006 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls
JR,
Please direct me to the reference you are applying in this situation. As for me, a forearm in and of itself does not constitute a foul and to say that it is, seems a little officious. My interpretation of the OP is that they meant every time an arm bar is used is this a foul? It is not unless it impedes, reroutes, or displaces. A forearm can be used to absorb contact as long as it isn't extended.

If I am defending in the post, playing behind and to the side of the offense, I extend an arm to deter the entry pass and I have my off arm in front of my chest and more than likely it is in contact with the offense. If the offense ins't actively working to get the ball, I am not going to call this.

If memory serves the intent of the NFHS was to stop the pushing that players do with the arm bar, is this what you are referring to?

Nope, your memory is incorrect. the NFHS meant to <b>stop</b> the usage of an arm bar <b>completely</b>. Using the criteria "impedes, re-routes or displaces" basically is the NCAA Mens interpretation, <b>not</b> the NFHS'. The NCAA MENS POE says something to the effect that you can't use a forearm to prevent a player from attaining or maintaining their legal position.

That cite that I made is direct from POE 4A in the 2002-03 NFHS rule book, and it refers to a forearm on <b>any</b> player </b>anywhere</b> on the court. It was also repeated <i>verbatim</i> from the 2001-02 rulebook. The 2003-04 rulebook in POE 2A-7 also stated <i>"When a player jabs a hand or <b>forearm</b> on a player, it's a <b>foul</b>."</i>

Iow, maybe for you, the forearm in and of itself does not constitute a foul, but to the FED it sureasheck does. They said so for <b>three</b> straight years in their rule book.

Now, whether it gets called according to the FED interpretation faithfully is a whole 'nother matter. From the responses in this thread, I'd say that it looks like it depends on the region. Whether any of us agree or not personally, I think that whether the forearm is <b>uniformly</b> called throughout a region is more important anyway. The coaches and players should be able to know exactly what they can do out there from game to game without getting called for a foul.

Btw, in our region, we teach our officials to call the forearm immediately, with the same goal in mind as the FED....to cut down on rough play.

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 26, 2006 01:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
In college, yes, that's what it means. But as I distinguished above, not in HS.

I knew that, Chuck. My cognitive skills haven't deteriorated that much with age, you elitist prick.:D

ChuckElias Tue Sep 26, 2006 07:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I knew that, Chuck. My cognitive skills haven't deteriorated that much with age, you elitist prick.:D

I am not an elitist!

Jimgolf Tue Sep 26, 2006 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The 2003-04 rulebook in POE 2A-7 also stated <i>"When a player jabs a hand or <b>forearm</b> on a player, it's a <b>foul</b>."</i>

Iow, maybe for you, the forearm in and of itself does not constitute a foul, but to the FED it sureasheck does. They said so for <b>three</b> straight years in their rule book.

This says that jabbing a forearm is a foul. Nothing more.

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 26, 2006 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
This says that jabbing a forearm is a foul. Nothing more.

Um, yeah? And that's basically what the previous two years of NFHS POE's say also, as I cited previously. Iow, a foream is considered an automatic foul under NFHS rules.

I think I might be missing the point that you're trying to make.

ChuckElias Tue Sep 26, 2006 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I think I might be missing the point that you're trying to make.

Jim is distinguishing between "jabbing" (which the FED says is a foul) and simply having the forearm on the opponent without pushing or extending (which he would say is legal).

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 26, 2006 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Jim is distinguishing between "jabbing" (which the FED says is a foul) and simply having the forearm on the opponent without pushing or extending (which he would say is legal).

And, as I already cited previously from the POE's of 2001-02 and 2002-03, the NFHS rulesmakers have already stated that having a forearm on an opponent is illegal, no matter what. Iow, the FED is <b>not</b> distinguishing between how the forearm is used; they're simply saying that if you lay a forearm on another player in any way, you've fouled that player.

Note that I'm just regurgitating the FED cites; I'm not offering my own opinion in any way.

rainmaker Tue Sep 26, 2006 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
And, as I already cited previously from the POE's of 2001-02 and 2002-03, the NFHS rulesmakers have already stated that having a forearm on an opponent is illegal, no matter what. Iow, the FED is <b>not</b> distinguishing between how the forearm is used; they're simply saying that if you lay a forearm on another player in any way, you've fouled that player.

Note that I'm just regurgitating the FED cites; I'm not offering my own opinion in any way.

Around here we distinguish between "having a forearm <b>on</b> an opponent" and having a forearm up between the bodies where is't just sort of protecting personal space. Perhaps that's the difference.

mick Tue Sep 26, 2006 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Btw, in our region, we teach our officials to call the forearm immediately, with the same goal in mind as the FED....to cut down on rough play.

Because several coaches (a number of local ex-DII players) teach the forearm as a defensive technique, I have taken the track of "talking" the forearm off, even when there is no ball in the post. If I get a chance, I will advise the player(s) that when they begin their college seasons the forearm will permitted.

Dan_ref Tue Sep 26, 2006 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Around here we distinguish between "having a forearm <b>on</b> an opponent" and having a forearm up between the bodies where is't just sort of protecting personal space. Perhaps that's the difference.

Not sure I follow this Juulie.

rainmaker Tue Sep 26, 2006 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Not sure I follow this Juulie.

my comprehensibility index is way, way down the last couple weeks, isn't it?

If the defender is in back of the offense (offender?!) and the offense is just backing up, and the defender is using the forearm to sort of help maintain position, to brace herself against the offense, then we don't call that. If she has it extended toward the offense, or is pushing, then call it.

Jimgolf Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um, yeah? And that's basically what the previous two years of NFHS POE's say also, as I cited previously. Iow, a foream is considered an automatic foul under NFHS rules.

I think I might be missing the point that you're trying to make.

I'm saying that this particular citation doesn't support the point that a forearm is an automatic foul, since it specifies jabbing, which no one would contend is not a foul.

BTW, in NYC it is called the way Rainmaker posted: If the forearm is not extended, then it is not called a foul.

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
I'm saying that this particular citation doesn't support the point that a forearm is an automatic foul, since it specifies jabbing, which no one would contend is not a foul.

And what's your position on the previous two year's citations.

Again, <i>verbatim</i> from the POE- "Use of the forearm regardless of the duration of the contact is a FOUL". Note that the FED capitalized the word "FOUL" in that citation, not me. Iow, if a player puts a forearm on any other player, no matter where it is on the court or for how long, they consider that a foul.

Do you agree with the above NFHS citation? Or are you saying that the FED citation is wrong?

SmokeEater Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias
In a HS game, no forearm in the post. I use "straight up" right away, whether they are just leaning or not. If they don't clean it up, it gets a whistle and a quick, "no arm-bars" to the coach if s/he asks.

I agree 100% with this. I feel if the hand checks philosophy is being called on the perimeter players, then we need to also send a message to clean up the post play as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1