The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member

Off topic: Sports medicine type question

Hey guys,

I was hoping since alot of you guys are current or ex athletes you could help me with this question.

My daughter has turned her ankle a couple times in the last year. The most recent being Friday.

And since I'm a former student trainer in my High School days, I've been taping her ankle for a few days afterwards. But since good athletic tape is like $3 a roll, I was going to invest in some ankle braces for her. Another reason is this way, even if I'm not around, she can still take some preventitive messures.

When I was a trainer we used to use the kind that laced up like a shoe. But looking at the local pharmacy last night the only kind they sold were the One size fits all, with the velcro straps or the pull over elastic kind.

Looking online I see the lace up type of brace is available at sporting goods stores.

My question was: Is the lace up type, still the best kind of brace? Or are velcro type braces better?

I realize that this isn't the perfect forum for a question like this, but I looked around the web and didn't see any articles on point or message boards dealing with Sports Medicine that looked like they had much of any activity.

I'm not looking for medical advise, just personal preferences from guys who use or have used ankle braces in the past. Any specific brands might be helpful as well.

One other thing to keep in mind is that she is a 13 year old girl with medium sized feet (about a women's size 8). The one size fits all might not work out so well. Therefore I didn't buy any last night, since I didn't feel comfortable with the selection to choose from.

Last edited by grizwald; Fri Jun 23, 2006 at 05:50pm.
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member