The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 1
Point of Interruption / Clarification

Please explain the procedure in putting the ball in play for this situation.

Before the bonus rule is in effect, B1 commits a rebounding foul on A1. After the whistle, A2 and B2 simultaneously are whistled for a "double technical" foul.

It is my contention that because of the dead ball period, the way to handle this play is as follows. Am I correct?

A false double foul. First report the rebound foul. Then, because of the dead ball period, follow the third way to put the ball in play ( c, in the rule book; chp 4; definitions; Res of Play ), which is to go to the AP arrow. The throw in is at half court and not the spot nearest the foul.

Please give me case plays or written text to verify or correct. Thanks!
__________________
Bear75
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Hi Bear, and welcome to the Forum. Glad you found us here. In your situation, you would NOT go to the arrow. If you read the complete rule, it says you go to the arrow if there's no team control AND neither team is entitled to a throw-in or FT (along with a couple other things). But in your case, Team A is entitled to a throw-in b/c of the rebounding foul. So the POI is Team A's throw-in. No need for the arrow.

You report all three fouls and then give Team A the throw-in to resume.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Bear, POI means we DON'T go to the arrow in these types of situations.

Point of interruption = what were we doing when the double foul occurred?

We were about do give the ball to Team A, because B1 fouled. SO that's what we do. That's the POI.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 231
Bear, this rule was changed just this past season, so if you have an old rulebook, then you wouldn't know what we're talking about with regards to the point of interruption.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 28, 2006, 12:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,510
As the other guys have written you need to use 4-36-2b. Team A should have a throw-in nearest to where B1 committed the rebounding foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bear75
Please give me case plays or written text to verify or correct. Thanks!
2005-06 NFHS Exam Part II
Question 94. After a double technical foul, the alternating-possession throw-in shall be from the division line opposite the scorer's and timer's table.
Answer: False (7-5-9; 4-36)
(Why? Because even if you had a double technical foul which did require the use of the AP arrow, you would still resume from the OOB spot nearest to the location of the ball. You would NOT go to the division line opposite the table, unless that, by chance, happens to be the nearest spot.)


7-5-9 . . . After a double personal foul, as in 4-19-8a; a double technical foul, as in 4-19-8b; or a simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-10, play shall be resumed at the point of interruption. See 4-36.

4-36
POINT OF INTERRUPTION
ART. 1 . . . Method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10.
ART. 2…Play shall be resumed by:
a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.
c. An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved.

And for a real life example from today: My partner calls a foul on B1 and A1 is entitled to 2FTs. While my partner is reporting the foul, A1 and B2 exchange verbal unpleasantries. I call a double technical foul. We charge three players with fouls, two of which are technical, tally two team fouls for B and one for A, then continue the game with A1's 2FTs as normal. This is also an example of 4-36-2b being put to use.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun May 28, 2006 at 12:54am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
point of interruption elecref Basketball 23 Fri Oct 07, 2005 03:08pm
point of interruption elecref Basketball 31 Wed Sep 28, 2005 05:18pm
What is point of interruption ? bossref Basketball 13 Thu Dec 12, 2002 03:17pm
"point of interruption" Rhino Basketball 1 Fri Dec 08, 2000 06:11pm
Point of Interruption kspann Basketball 12 Thu Nov 30, 2000 11:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1